A Beggar’s Bargain

Let’s all welcome Jan Sikes today. She has a new story to share with us. Jan is one of my Story Empire partners, a great author, and a good friend. Check out her newest, and don’t forget to use those sharing buttons. I know Jan has done it for most of you.

***

Thank you for generously offering to turn your blog over to me today, Craig. I deeply appreciate the opportunity to talk about my new book, A Beggar’s Bargain.

Anyone who knows me knows how important music is in my life. And I am drawn to unusual musical instruments. So, for this story, I gave my female protagonist a thumb piano to play. I don’t know if any of you have ever seen this instrument, but I comes in varying shapes and sizes. It is also known as a Kalimba and is believed to have originated in Africa thousands of years ago.

Here’s a short excerpt that shows Layken Martin’s surprise when he hears her playing.

The strains of a haunting melody drifted through the open front door, followed by a mournful harmonica.

He stepped out onto the porch.

Sara Beth sat on the porch swing, Cuddles at her side. On her lap, she held an odd-looking small wooden box with an array of metal keys on which she tapped out the melody.

Uncle Seymour sat on an overturned box, blowing on a harp.

Layken stood for a long minute in wonder. He’d never thought to ask Sara Beth if she played an instrument. And that reminded him about her fascination with the radio when she’d first stepped foot in his house.

As soon as he got the crop planted and watered in, he vowed to check it out and see if it still worked.

They stopped playing, and Layken clapped. “I had no idea you both played music.”

“Me and this old harp have been friends many a year.” Uncle Seymour tapped it against his pants leg.

“What is that you’re playing, Sara Beth?”

She cast a shy glance in his direction. “A thumb piano. My mother taught me to play.”

“Well, I’ll be. Never saw one of those before. It sounded awful pretty. Will you do another?”

***

Several years ago, my late husband and I owned a small music store, and I came home from work one day to find that he’d traded something for a thumb piano. I had more fun trying to play it. What about you? Have you ever seen this instrument? Let’s talk!

Book Blurb:

A shocking proposal that changes everything.

Desperate to honor his father’s dying wish, Layken Martin vows to do whatever it takes to save the family farm.

Once the Army discharges him following World War II, Layken returns to Missouri to find his legacy in shambles and in jeopardy. A foreclosure notice from the bank doubles the threat. He appeals to the local banker for more time—a chance to rebuild, plant, and harvest crops and time to heal far away from the noise of bombs and gunfire.

Only the banker firmly denies his request. Now what?

Then, the banker makes an alternative proposition—marry his unwanted daughter, Sara Beth, in exchange for a two-year extension. Out of options, money, and time, Layken agrees to the bargain.

Now, he has two years to make a living off the land while he shares his life with a stranger.

If he fails at either, he’ll lose it all.

UNIVERSAL PURCHASE LINK:

https://books2read.com/u/3nqqEo

BOOK TRAILER LINK: https://youtu.be/G6vMqD4SuQ4?si=aZG6RCZbFlhJfuxB

 

AUTHOR’S SOCIAL MEDIA:

UNIVERSAL LINK: https://linktr.ee/Rijanjks

OR INDIVIDUALLY

http://www.jansikes.com

https://www.twitter.com/jansikes3

http://www.facebook.com/AuthorJanSikesBooks

https://www.bookbub.com/profile/jan-sikes

http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00CS9K8DK (Author Page)

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7095856.Jan_Sikes

47 Comments

Filed under Writing

47 responses to “A Beggar’s Bargain

  1. I have never heard of this instrument. How interesting. Good luck with this book, Jan. Shared.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Another lovely book by Jan and I am looking forward to reading. thanks for showcasing today Craig..xx

    Liked by 5 people

  3. A Beggars Bargain is next on my list!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Pingback: A Beggar’s Bargain | Jaye Marie and Anita Dawes

  5. Jan’s books always having some mystic and unusual things in it. This makes it also valuable to read. Best wishes, Michael

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Thank you, Craig, for allowing me to take over your blog today! Much appreciated.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: A Beggar’s Bargain | Legends of Windemere

  8. I’ve never seen one, Jan. Years ago, I played the piano (my favorite instrument). Music is important to me, as well. Now, I gotta look up the thumb piano.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Glad it piqued your interest, Sue. I am finding that music is important to most authors in one form or another. I am sure there are some YouTube videos with someone playing a thumb piano. They call it that because you do literally play it with your thumbs. Thank you for stopping by!

      Liked by 2 people

  9. I’ve seen them occasionally (very occasionally) but never knew what they were. Never even heard one being played. So cool.

    Best wishes on the release, Jan.

    Thanks for hosting, Craig.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. I came across new instruments throughout my youngest son’s years in band and orchestra, but a thumb piano is a new one for me, Jan. I’ll have to look it up on YouTube so I can hear it.

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Craig, thanks for sharing your online space with Jan and her new release. A Beggar’s Bargain lives up to the hype!

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Gwen M. Plano

    Congratulations, Jan. I remember the thumb pianos and loved using them – way back when. Great excerpt! Thank you, Craig, for spotlighting Jan today.

    Liked by 2 people

  13. I’ve never heard of the instrument, but it looks interesting, and the book’s premise sounds awesome. Good luck with the book, Jan! Enjoyed the excerpt.

    Liked by 2 people

  14. Congratulations, Jan. I was always fascinated by the thumb piano but never knew its name. Best wishes on your ;latest. Thank you Craig for hosting.

    Liked by 2 people

  15. The thumb piano is interesting, and the excerpt is great.

    Liked by 2 people

  16. Great post, Jan! I enjoyed the excerpt, and yes, I’ve not only heard of a thumb piano (among other names for this instrument) but we have one hanging on our family room wall. Sadly, neither of us has any musical talent to speak of, but it’s pretty cool looking, and I enjoy having it on display. 😀 ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  17. I’ve never heard of that instrument, and we’ve even been to Africa! The book is downloaded!

    Liked by 2 people

  18. Jan, I was completely unfamiliar with the term and paused to Google when I was reading A Beggar’s Bargain. Once I saw an image, I made a connection, but admit to having only a passing association. I love that you added that element. Yet another wonderful addition to your fantastic story. Congratulations on A Beggar’s Bargain. That book truly shines!

    Many thanks for hosting today, Craig!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. I have always wanted a thumb piano…

    Liked by 2 people

  20. Jan, I bought your book and it’s arriving April first. Looking forward to reading it! 📚🎶Christine

    Liked by 2 people

  21. Kalimbas are fun. 😀 … you can get them is all sorts of keys and octaves… imagine an orchestra of ’em. 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  22. That would be something amazing to hear, Widdershins! And yes, they do come in all different keys and octaves. The one I had was in the key of C. Thank you so much for stopping by and adding your comment!

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Hi Jan, that’s a nice thumb piano. My father has one but it’s not as posh as the one in your picture. A lovely extract. Thanks for hosting Jan, Craig 💕

    Liked by 2 people

  24. It was great to see Jan Sikes’s new book and blurb here, Craig, thank you. I enjoyed seeing the thumb piano photo (never heard of one) and reading the excerpt, and send my best wishes for success with A Beggars Bargain to Jan.

    Liked by 2 people

  25. I have a thumb piano somewhere, Jan, but I don’t know where. The musical elements of the story were so warm and sweet. A great story. Congrats on the new release, and thanks, Craig, for hosting our friend. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment