I’ve become boring

Things have slowed down on the fiction front for me. I’ve hit a metaphorical wall on the weekends. It got so bad last weekend, that I counted on Jan Sikes to carry the load around here, and her post performed like gangbusters. Thank you all for supporting her.

Some of it involves work. There is simply too much to do inside of eight hours, and I’ve been pushing myself. That takes a toll on my brain. In a way it still counts as thousands of new words written, but isn’t nearly as entertaining as fiction.

Some of it is taxes. We owe again this year, but this time don’t have the money to pay them all. We covered the state, and put the federal on a credit card which we can now pay off for the next 20 years.

This caused me to update my W-4. We were already both declaring zero dependents. I will never understand how we can come up short by using the charts they provide. From now on, I’m taking extra cash from each paycheck to put aside for federal and state taxes. There could be a lot more beans around here in 2024.

I started a savings stash for things like cover art, but it isn’t even close to paying the taxes for us. I decided to keep my stash and add to it sporadically.

I’m also behind on reading. It seems like all of my friends published at once. I intend to read them, but have to shoehorn them all into the time I have. Maybe it’s payback. People used to tell me I publish so frequently they can’t keep up.

To keep this from becoming a total pity party, I took this picture for you.

There are only a small handful of them, but they’re peach blossoms. Looks like the old tree made it through another winter. I wonder if the tree looks back and thinks, “Looks like Boyack made it through another winter.”

I’m going to hit it hard for one more week, then I’m using some leave. My brain needs the rest, and maybe I can make some progress on one of my projects.

Think about looking at my sidebar. There are some cool books over there, and I have a credit card bill to cover. (That’s supposed to be funny.) Happy Easter, everyone.

29 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

29 responses to “I’ve become boring

  1. Definitely sounds like March was rough. Seems to be going around. Sorry about the taxes. Hope April is better for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I dread doing our taxes this year. Yes, I’ve procrastinated. We used to get a federal refund (we don’t have state taxes), but the only reason was because both of us claimed no exemptions and had them withhold at a higher single rate. Crazy way to have to do it, but it was the only way not to owe.

    I can relate on the writing front. When I worked, it was hard to come home and write. Now, I’m at a stalemate for another reason. I just can’t wrap my head around writing any fiction.

    Love the peach blossoms. I have a lilac bush that my grandfather purchased (and he passed away before I was born. It’s survived at least three transplants. This year it had a single bloom, but amazingly, it’s still living.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It looks like you make too much money to go with no deductions. Sadly adjusting the withholding means less in the pocket but keeps you out of pinstripes.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Work your ass off, making ends meet is lacing a fat lady into a size two corset and we still owe the government money. I’ll never understand. I put taxes on a credit card one year. Don’t. As for cover art savings unless you’re selling the books outside of your writers’ group to cover it, it’s vanity. However it is a write off as long as you can show income. But they won’t let you get away with it forever. As for your brain, since you are perfectly capable of having a creative thought, give any AI aside from “Alexa, what is the airspeed of a European swallow” research the boot. That stuff will corrupt your soul. Leave it to the people who can’t, you know. The muse knows when you’re cheating on it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great picture. Tax time can be time consuming, depending on your situation. Do the best you can, Craig.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. There’s always an ebb and flow. If you want a suggestion, it would be to make time for reading. It’s relaxing, and perhaps it will send out the SOS to your muse Lorelei that you aren’t ready to retire as an author.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Taxes are the biggest bummer of the spring. Ruins the season as far as I’m concerned. Being retired, we need to have a huge slush fund to pay them or they come out of our retirement funds and we pay taxes on what we take out. And this years taxes are going up. Thank you, government.

    Thank heavens I can look at flowers and flowering trees for a little mental relief.

    Have a good break.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. It sucks that you had to pay taxes, Craig. I swear the middle income earning folks are supporting the government while the super rich pay nothing. Inequality at its best. I know what you mean about so many friends publishing at the same time. I’ve been reading like a madman and enjoying every one of them! Take a break. Reset your brain. Don’t sweat the credit card. I am not sure we ever get them totally paid off. Hang in there and Happy Easter!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Time for a break. I don’t know how you work and write all the books you’ve written, Craig. My hat’s off to you! Take a break. You deserve it!

    Like

  10. I agree with Jan. Our oldest son, single and claiming 0, also owes on taxes – again. Just doesn’t seem right, and the same goes for you guys. Take the break, rest your brain, and enjoy some reading, Craig.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. <i>I wonder if the tree looks back and thinks, “Looks like Boyack made it through another winter.”</i>

    Hahahahaha! Hope you had a nice weekend, Craig.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. When The Body in the Attic hit the USA Today besellers’ list, we owed money on our taxes. HATED it! We get this year’s taxes done on Wednesday. We should be safe this time, but it sure doesn’t take much to make us pay. It doesn’t seem fair.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Maybe March is going out like a lion. April will be better?

    Liked by 1 person

  14. HI Craig, the tax issue is odd to me. My firm deducts tax from my salary each month and my tax calculation is to determine if the Revenue Services owe me rather than the other way around. US tax must work differently. I also have a bunch of new books to read. They must wait their turn on my TBR. I also have your latest The Hat which I must read, they always make me happy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment