Life gets its way

I wound up missing some work last week. I was kind of tethered to the toilet, and having one about a block from my desk just didn’t work.

That does not mean I was any kind of productive at home. When you don’t feel well, sometimes it just requires dealing with the issue and nothing else.

The weekend wasn’t much better, because I had real-world tasks to deal with. I spent an inordinate amount of time looking for my water key. It’s time to turn on the sprinklers, but I cannot find my key. I’ll have to wait until payday and buy a new one. We can use hoses and sprinklers in the meantime.

Writing wasn’t great, but it comes to about 2200 words. It’s not awful, but it’s my sum-total for a week.

It’s all coming out in chunks right now and separated by section breaks. (***) I don’t particularly like it that way and need to put some thought into it.

Some of the section breaks are a great way to move the story ahead. When you have three per chapter, it could be an indication of a problem.

When this happens, it’s usually caused by a combination of things. I have characters who need to wrap up a few things. All the secrets are out with the exception of the last big one. Bringing that last big secret to the table requires some actions of each character and they aren’t all in the same place at the same time.

This is also made difficult with needing a reasonable amount of time to pass. Like a month or more. Something great is supposed to happen, but it takes time to learn that it might not be so great. My normal thing is to use a section break.

I could write this with complete flow, meaning to follow each character until they can deliver their discovery to the rest, but it would read like crap. My readers would have the information, but have to suffer along for a few thousand words before the characters could compare notes and draw conclusions. (I’m not doing this.)

I could do some telling. This is kind of anathema these days, but can work under some circumstances.

There are a few ideas in play. I’ll probably wrap this with a few section breaks, a tiny bit of telling, and by staying in the head of the character who has the most at stake.

Then there are the “rewards.” I still believe each character has to get something out of the ordeal. This isn’t like dragon treasure or anything like that. Maybe Cody and Bai start making a life together. Maybe Jenny gains some of the experience she needs along her path to investigative journalism. I can weave some of this into the other pieces to make it flow better. I promise not to write a scene where Princess Leah hands out medals to signify all is well.

Do any of you ever have problems like this? How did you address them? Do you know where my friggin water key is?

34 Comments

Filed under Writing

34 responses to “Life gets its way

  1. I wish I did know where your water key is located. I don’t even know what a water key is. Section breaks are something I don’t do. I usually give it some time and whatever was supposed to happen pops into my brain. I find that moving on and leaving ellipses behind just makes it worse. Of course if that works for you then I think it is great. I just know if I continue the story with an unsolved something it taints the words going forward.I’m not much help I know.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Water key is about five plus feet long with a T handle. It turns a valve that is down in the ground. I publish at least one or two section breaks in every book. The hat even has its own custom one involving three bass clefs. I’ll figure out how to reduce them eventually.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Don’t think I’m any help. I always have 2-4 section breaks in my chapters. Doing it the other way makes me feel like the story is choppy.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. You’ll think of something when you least expect it. Now, the water key…I’m not so sure about. It sounds like something that would be hard to misplace:) Good luck, Craig, and glad you feel better.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. I don’t know where your water key is but wish I could send you some of our rain, lols. I hope your week is smoother than the weekend! Hugs 💕😊

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Hoping you feel better now. The rest of the issues you’ll handle.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I hope you’re doing better, Craig, with less toilet time. Whatever happens, I’m confident that you’ll handle it well.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Mar

    I tend to always have section breaks, especially in my first draft.

    Hope you have fully recovered and that this week is much better for you and your writing.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Feel better, Craig. Look for the water key in the most unlikely places, then look in the logical places. If you don’t find it. Let it go. Then, it should suddenly appear. Good luck. 🍀

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Ugh! I hope you’re feeling better today, Craig. I expect the water key will show up when you least expect it which is usually the case, LOL. As for writing, I have full confidence you’ll work everything out! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Geez, so sorry to hear that the stomach bug got you. It did me too, a few weeks back. Hope you’re better today. Once you buy a new water key, you’ll find the old one. It’s hard to keep track of things you only use once a year. On the story…I like the idea of staying in the character’s POV who has the most at stake and a lot can be filled in with dialogue. I am confident you’ll work through the dilemma.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. The last time I saw the water key it was in a denim pocket. 😉

    Stomach bugs are brutal. Hope you’re feeling better. I use tracking comments instead of scene breaks when I need to add more but can’t think of what it is. Either way allows you to move forward. It usually comes to me when I read through the previous day’s work. Don’t fret. You’ll work it out.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Hope you’re feeling better, Craig! Sorry I can’t help with the water key. Mae’s right – it will turn up when you least expect it. Or right after you buy a new one.

    Liked by 2 people

  13. I hope you’re feeling better, and I wouldn’t get in a knot about how many POV changes you have in a chapter. Yes, it’s better to stay in a consistent POV but when you’re writing something intense and you want to give each character some action or reaction time, you’ll switch as often as needed.

    Liked by 2 people

  14. Gwen M. Plano

    So sorry you’ve been ill, Craig. I hope you are feeling better now. I don’t have any wisdom about finding things. But I usually find what I’m looking for in the most obvious place. 😊

    Liked by 2 people

  15. Real-world tasks, being sick and a missing water key. When you can have a good, long escape into your fiction world it’ll all feel better, Craig. Even in your misery, your last line here gave me a smile.

    Liked by 2 people

  16. Hi Craig, I look for you in the wrong day’s list – haha! Found this post today under Thursday. I am behind this week. I can’t help you with your sections break issue, I do use them and I don’t worry about it, thus I can’t relate to the worry – grin! I hope you are better now.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment