New words and Asian pears

My pear is in full bloom. The whole thing is quite pretty right now. I got a couple of good snaps, but the honeybee pushed one over the top as new wallpaper. Not gonna lie, I had a hard time giving up those maple leaves, but it’s time.

All the Bradford pears in the neighborhood are also blooming, and they pollinate mine. I’ll be thinning pears before much longer.

I dedicated myself to Footsteps of Infinity today. Added 2000 new words, and actually like them. It’s been a chapter since the big discovery, and a lot of this is about assembling their documentary.

I know everything that has to happen to wrap this up, but it’s going to take a couple of weeks to get it all to flow right.

One part I enjoyed was listening to another segment of Night Bump Radio. I’m having fun with this, because in The Hat Series I have to keep it all about cryptids, supernatural things, and ghosts.

In this story, callers can talk about aliens, and that makes me happy. Today, I wove in a caller who says he got probed, lost a bunch of time, and has a suffering friend because of it all.

This led me to Havana Syndrome, which gives Cody a sound reference to clear up for readers. He’s my wannabe Foley artist. He also makes a reference to The Brown Note.

Of course, the caller is half a bubble off plumb. He has problems for ordering Bud Light in front of all his friends. Who could blame the poor guy. He lost time and got probed… maybe. The whole thing is gloriously stupid.

The original idea for Night Bump Radio is a real call-in show we used to listen to in my younger years. It was called something similar to Shore To Shore. If you know, you know. The guy was from Nevada and so am I.

i have a couple of things I need to do, but have a hunch I’ll be adding new words to this baby. I’m irresponsible like that.

23 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Writing

23 responses to “New words and Asian pears

  1. Craig, I don’t know what a Foley artist is or The Brown Note. Don’t judge me. But this sure sounds like a fun story. Happy writing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, that’s definitely a cool snap, Craig, and the honeybee does make it deserve to be wallpaper. I had no clue about Foley artists or the brown note, either. Thanks for explaining them to Judi.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad you’re making progress. It sounds so goofy and fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Night Bump Radio – always a fan! I never know what kind of callers to expect.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. This sounds like a great story and I’m looking forward to it. Bradford pears have become something of a pariah tree around here – they stink! and drop branches with the slightest wind, so no one is planting them any more. But an Asian pear? I love that fruit.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. “Gloriously stupid” sounds like tons of fun! Your wildlife doesn’t snag your pears? Every year, I say to my husband, “One or two more days and the pears will be perfect.” Never fails, we find bear prints and no pears. Big rascal gets ’em every time. 

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Worthy wallpaper replacement. Bees are always winners.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. “The whole thing is gloriously stupid.” Lol. Sounds like you’re having fun writing, Craig. And your pear blossoms are gorgeous. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Glad thinks are looking up. Pears used to be so tasty when I got wild ones at a young age but those in the grocery aisles are always hard and can just about break your teeth, lol. Writing always takes us on adventures, doesn’t it? And it’s hard to tell what little fact we’ll need to look into to make things right.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Pingback: The Traci Dowe/Kenworth Newsletter with occasional insight from Loleta Abi – Where Genres Collide Traci Dowe YA Author

  11. Pingback: The Traci Dowe/Kenworth Newsletter with occasional insight from Loleta Abi – A Dash of Words with Loleta Abi Romance Author

Leave a comment