Did I do it?

I stewed about breaking down my third act with too many section breaks. I managed to smooth away a couple of these, but some have to remain.

Today, I wrapped the story up with a bittersweet ending. I left a glimmer of hope for the future in the last two paragraphs.

This one kicked my butt, and took me longer than most stories, but I really like it. I used some new techniques, and learned by doing. That’s the most profitable part of this gig. Being a self published author isn’t about money. (Other than the funds going out the door.) Learning, improving, and getting better at what I do motivates me.

I’m a little bummed that it came in at just under 63K words, but it’s a complete story. I don’t see any sense in legging it out if there isn’t something substantial for another 10K.

Something fun involves the senses. Back in Once Upon a Time in the Swamp, I decided to focus on senses that might not get enough attention when I write. There was a big focus on the sense of smell. If you want to know what I’m talking about, see the link in my sidebar. Those who risked it left me some wonderful reviews.

In Tracks of Infinity, I wanted to focus on sound. It plays a role in every story, but I added a side character who wants to be a foley artist. The last time I mentioned this, I got comments about not knowing what that is. Cody Hughes wants to be the guy that adds sound effects to various kinds of broadcasts. I’m really happy with his character arc, and how his part of the story wrapped.

I don’t know what I’ll do for the other senses. As a visual person, I don’t see the need to focus on sight at any time. I might have a difficult time making taste or touch a focal point in a future story, but I’m going to think about it. I’m not brave enough to write a blind character without having experience with those special needs. There is such a thing as a super taster, might have some merit.

Jenny, Cody’s mom, is the main character, and I also like her bittersweet ending. Bai is an interesting side character, and she gets a suitable arc as well.

In other news, Old What’s Her Face and I scored tickets to see Samantha Fish when she comes to Boise in July. I like some obscure things, when it comes to music. This one makes me want to start the next story about Lizzie and the hat this afternoon. I’ll start soon, but need a breather after finishing this story.

Okay, I need to get back to Lizzie and the Pythons PDQ.

42 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, Writing

42 responses to “Did I do it?

  1. Fabulous! I can’t wait to read this new book!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on finishing the first draft! It’s done! Yay. This one sounds interesting, like there are lots of moving parts. Right up my alley.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Whoo hoo!! There is nothing much more satisfying than writing The End to a first draft!! I am SO looking forward to this story. I love that it’s different and that you learned some new techniques along the way. You are right. That’s what it’s all about. If we can make a dollar while we’re doing it, all the more better, but the excitement of writing something new and different can’t be measured with money. I had a somewhat similar feeling writing historical fiction for the first time. Somehow, I have a feeling I may have found my niche, but only time will tell. I am all about variety. So glad you are going to see Samantha Fish. That is going to be SO much fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Keep it up, Craig. Your drive to do the best you can do and the results are amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Always fun to learn new things. Glad you are having fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Congrats on finishing a manuscript and ironing out a few issues. I like the music.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Congrats on finishing the book. Enjoy the concert!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Gwen M. Plano

    Bravo, Craig. I can’t wait to read your story. As for the Samantha Fish concert, I think you’ll have a great evening. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Congrats on finishing another story! I wish I could write as fast as you. I used to be able to when I was younger and before all the health problems I ran into. On the bright side, I’ve lost 50 lbs. now. I haven’t been this weight in forever and there’s still more to go! I can get back in 1x again finally! Believe me, I’ve spent years in bigger sizes all due to meds making me blow up. Anyway, it’s cool the way you talk about your stories. I wish you luck on this one and the next always!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Great job finishing your story. I guess if you wanted to do a focus on the sense of taste, your characters might be foodies?

    Liked by 1 person

  11. D.L. Finn, Author

    Congrats on getting closer to releasing it, Craig. I ran into the same thing with my latest it was shorter than normal but didn’t need anything else.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Congratulations, Craig! Birthing that first draft is one of the best reasons to celebrate. *tosses confetti* I enjoy pushing myself to include all five senses. It makes the scene much more visceral.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Pingback: Apr. 30, 2024 Favorite Storytellers by Traci Dowe/Kenworth – Where Genres Collide Traci Dowe YA Author

  14. Good news about finishing! The length–I can usually find a place to add more detail or something interesting, but not always. Then I settle for whatever length I have. My current WIP is about 80,000. I have a bit of room to cut if I need to.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Hi Craig, congratulations on reaching the end with this new book. Do you still need to edit or do you do your editing as you go along?

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Congrats, Craig, on finishing another one. And I like your pointed effort in focusing on the senses, particularly those we use less than sight. It works. :-)

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Hey there! How are you doing? I noticed you’re an author, and I’m intrigued. Could we chat privately about your work? It’s exciting—I believe I might have some insights to contribute to your books.

    Like

Leave a comment