The weekend… ends

I don't have much of a progress report. After the trip to Shoshone Falls, we turned Saturday into an errand kind of day. Pretty mundane lifestyle things mostly.

We had date night at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse. The food is always great, but I always think I could have gotten two steaks elsewhere for the same price.

Today, I finally got around to my reading. I spent several hours getting past the halfway point of a very good book. My eyes got too tired to go on, or I would have. Reading has to be a priority for me now. I have my RRBC club goal to meet for this quarter, plus I accepted a beta reading project and an ARC for review project that I need to finish before May.

I still have Yak Guy waiting around for me, and the delay brought me some clarity on his journey. I know what to do to reach the conclusion. I simply need to find the time to bring it all together. Since I don't have a publisher breathing down my neck, it has to wait for higher priority projects.

I did a bunch of blog work today too. My cohorts over at Story Empire and I have a promotional push going on soon. I think it's going to be a good event, but all the work has to happen ahead of time.

Beyond that, I ordered a cover for The Enhanced League and three new Lisa Burton posters to help me promote it. Once I get a break, I'll start the editing process. It is possible to have it available by the end of school. I'm still hung up on summer releases, and may hold it back until fall if it takes that long. Some of you might be able to convince me that summer releases are okay, but I think some genres are better suited to it than others.

Time for The Walking Dead, then I have to turn in early. Four AM comes around pretty early.

So, how was your weekend? Did you do fun things? Did you make progress on your projects? What do you think about summer releases?

22 Comments

Filed under Writing

22 responses to “The weekend… ends

  1. I didn’t make any progress on anything. Was pretty typical here. Laundry, housework, cooking, games, tv, books, people in and out. Sunday seems to be fleeting!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. No progress on anything for me this weekend. I goofed off instead. I need to work extra hard this week to catch up. Hoping the week cooperates!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Got a lot of work done. Beta read progress. Edit on Circumstances of Childhood progress. ( I think you will like the changes) Have a good week.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Looking forward to seeing the cover and promos. Got a little work done on the next Dawn Addison story, which should be done by tomorrow. Then a week of twiddling my thumbs because next weekend is the start to a whole slew of events. Feel an odd melancholy lurking in my shadow too. Might be because this coming has the final episodes of two series I’ve been watching for a while. So many endings are popping up that it’s kind of creepy and making me too introspective for my own good.

    Summer releases are tough. You don’t have as much traffic because people are going on vacation or doing stuff outside. Books don’t always go along for the ride. Yet, it could work better for short stories and micro-fiction. On the other hand, you may get some extra traction from releasing the Enhanced League around the World Series. At the very least, that would make for a great promo period.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I was on call and tied to the wifi at my house. My big project was to clear out my daughter’s outgrown clothes and bake some bread. Got that done. Writer’s block is plaguing me, though. I have this photo and title that I want to use for a post but I cannot find the write words. Gah. Hate that. I can’t do anything else until I use this silly photo!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sounds like a productive weekend. I too have reading to catch up on. I started a book written by an RRBC member three weeks ago and I am having a very hard time reading it. My question to you is this. Do I push through and give a half-assed review, or do I put it down and move on to something else? What would you do?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. My weekend was crazy-busy, and very productive. Having been without the Internet for over three weeks, I had soooo much to catch up on! Have now done that (I hope) I have also completed another 2400 words of my latest project. Perhaps only sleeping for roughly four hours a day has something to do with it. That voice in my head that says ‘so much to do, and so little time’ is on permanent replay.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I try to take weekends off to recharge and to hang out with family. I’d burn out, otherwise. Give yourself a break; there’s no harm in a writing-less weekend. I bet you come back with energy to burn… or to channel into Yak Guy or something else.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sounds like a great weekend. Mine wasn’t all that eventful as I worked all weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. RedheadedBooklover

    Hi there! I just came across this post of yours and your blog in general and I couldn’t help but comment and tell you how much I love this! Keep up the great work, I am going to follow you so I can keep up with all your new posts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

