A wasted opportunity

It all started last Saturday. I awoke with the worst sinus headache and some fever conditions. I spent the day in bed. I felt better on Sunday, but that isn’t the same as feeling good.

I had things scheduled at work, and when it involves over seventy students, I don’t reschedule. Fortunately, it was a Zoom classroom so I could keep my phlegm mostly to myself.

I fought through the fog all week. Everyone under my roof has this right now, and I got the lightest dose of it.

Today I crawled from bed at 8:00 and even that was reluctantly. I have one good day to do some writing, because Sundays are usually filled with other things.

I’m like most people in that I have a game on my phone. Today, they had a new game-within-a-game. I played it from coffee until about 2:00 this afternoon. It was a ton of fun, but didn’t put new words on the page.

I’ve used up all my in-game resources and have no new words to show for it. Didn’t even get the big prize in the game.

But… life isn’t all aliens, dwarves, and witchcraft. We’re all still feeling under the weather. Today was about mindless games, humidifiers, cough drops, and throwing the Nylabone for Frankie, (who is uber happy.)

I might weasel an hour or two tomorrow, but I might not. Somehow, I’m not worried about it. I work like a dog on my fiction, but nobody is picketing in my yard for the next publication. It will come, but I also want it to be a certain quality. The brain fog won’t last forever, and I’ll return to my projects.

I’m guessing this happens to everyone. Hope you’re all having a great weekend whatever you decide to do.

41 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

41 responses to “A wasted opportunity

  1. Hope this makes the struggle worth it: I picked up a copy of “Goodbye Old Paint” yesterday. Hugs and feel better.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like a nasty one. I sure hope you start to feel better in the coming days. I’ll bet Frankie is in heaven with all the warm bodies lying around. Best wishes for a great rebound.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s so important to listen when your body tells you “not today.” Even if you forced the words out, would they be good words, or would you have to re-do it later? I think you made the right call.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ugh. Commiserations. Sometimes you just have to be kind to yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Always a challenge to write when sick. Sometimes, you just need to veg and entertain yourself until you recover. Hope everyone feels better soon. Got some colds going around here right now. At least, I think they’re colds.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sending all the good wishes I can. I hate losing days to being sick or to being too tired to write. But life happens. Even to authors:) Hope you feel better soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sorry your family is ill, Craig. There’s nothing like the flu to knock us down a peg or two. I hope you feel better soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. “I work like a dog on my fiction, but nobody is picketing in my yard for the next publication.” True. Which is why wisdom dictates take care of yourself and what’s around you that is truly important because without a publishing house and a 1/4 million dollar budget we write for our sanity and to keep the cobwebs in the attic at bay.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. GIve yourself a break! Given that you are ill, a game diversion is probably the best medicine!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Hi Craig, I’m sorry to hear you are still sick. I had quite a good writing weekend which hasn’t been the case for a while.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. That’s the way it goes sometimes, Craig. I think you’ll do what’s best and cope with it well.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Sorry to hear you’ve been sick, Craig, and I do hope you are feeling at least SOME better today. Take good care of yourself. The rest will be ready when you are.😊 👍🏻😊

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Hope you’re feeling better, Craig. Being sick around the holidays is the worst. Sometimes the body just needs rest.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. My husband and I have a similar sinus thing going on. It’s a lingerer! And I’ve adopted a similar strategy of “trying” not to feel guilty about missing a writing session. Hope you feel better soon. {{{hugs}}}

    Liked by 1 person

  15. D.L. Finn, Author

    Hope you feel yourself soon, Craig. This virus is sure making its rounds.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Wishing you a quick recovery! And thank you for the reminder that we all need to stop and take a break every so often.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. It seems like this one knocked you for a loop, Craig. I hope you’re feeling better now that a couple of days have passed. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Never fun to be sick, so I am glad to read (above) that you’re improving every day, Craig.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment