Having a little fun

Old What’s Her Face has the prettiest maple tree in our subdivision. I’ve been wanting to take a background picture for a week now, but it had been stormy.

I laid at the trunk and shot up through the branches. I wound up with four great pictures. One had an interesting cluster of leaves that dangled toward my phone. As wallpaper, that would be covered by the actual blog material. Two had varying levels of a sun flare that were also interesting. Wallpaper being what it it, those might have turned into light flare background and not left the Autumn colors I wanted.

In the end, I went with the simple but colorful one. How you read blogs will make a difference. It looks great on my iPad, but doesn’t show up at all on my phone. I like it and went with it.

We also decided to take the rest of the week off. We’re both feeling the strain in the workplace and have plenty of leave coming to us. Mine ties into the observed Veteran’s Day holiday, so I get more out of it than the hours I’m spending.

Then there was last night. About six months or so ago we bought tickets to see ZZ Ward. This was in the same small venue where we saw Larkin Poe last year. It was a great time.

She’s heavily pregnant right now, but it didn’t make any difference in the music. We had the balcony this time, but every seat there is great. If I had one gripe, we didn’t buy tickets to the drummer’s concert. Someone needed to adjust something so she was more of the main event.

She played her old songs, and some from her new album to give us a broad spectrum. I’m a bigger fan of her older stuff, but she teased a blues album coming out next year.

If you’ve never heard of her, she is worth checking out.

Maybe someday Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Ali Venable, or Samantha Fish will make their way out here. A couple of them landed in Salt Lake City and the West Coast. Boise is a happening place, so it will eventually happen.

35 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

35 responses to “Having a little fun

  1. Hi Craig, sounds like a good day, all around, and you get some leave to rest. I would not like to be touring while heavily pregnant. That is brave.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. The autumn leaves are gorgeous, Craig. I can’t see them on my phone, but they show up great on my desktop. Sounds like a wonderful concert with ZZ Ward. I had to give her a listen as I wasn’t familiar with her. Good stuff!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. D.L. Finn, Author

    I love to get shots of the autumn colors. I’ve been walking around the property trying to catch that perfect lightening! Glad you enjoyed your concert too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The wallpaper looks great. ZZ Ward is new to me. Put the Gun Down is an interesting song and the video is terrific. Enjoy. your rest

    Liked by 1 person

  5. A restful week sounds nice. I’ll have to check out that artist’s music when I have time.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. henhouselady

    I’ve seen Samantha Fish several times in concert. She tours sometimes with Tab Beniot. ZZ Ward is new. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I love autumn leaves – so many colors. Looks like a good view of the concert from your seats. Hubby also likes listening to Kenny Wayne Shepherd.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Phyllis Boyack

    Glad to hear that you two finally got to do something fun instead of just staying home. It seems like a lot of people are just staying home these days. Love,Mom

    Like

  9. Sounds like you got a great start to some time off! Enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. It’s great that you got the chance to go out together. I have tomorrow off, but it’s kind of booked with auto repairs — a recall I’ve been ignoring, that I really need to get taken care of.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. The leaves of the tree look magnificent, Craig. Great shot! ZZ Ward is really great. Thanks for sharing her music.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. The drum mix is the FOH person/people’s problem and feel free to complain. My daughter, at age 14, was a sound man’s worst nightmare, which is what happens to child following her father around through the music business. I’d drop her and a gaggle of her underaged wrist band friends off at a venue on 6th street (when it was 6th Street) in Austin and guaranteed I’d hear from someone in the front or backline rental company about “Saw your daughter ragging on the Front of House dude last night”. The trouble was, she was right, and worse, could usually tell them how to fix it. It’s an unfortunate truth, but I’ve heard way more “sound guys” that, after listening to two songs, I wouldn’t hire to mix a fucking cake, much less a band. However, and this just goes to show you what owning your own record company will do for you, the absolute best drum mix I ever heard live was Herb Alpert on his geezer and art tour. Second is a tie between Herbie Hancock and Jeff Beck. All with no assistance from my daughter🤣

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Love ZZ Ward! I didn’t realize she was pregnant. Or married/involved. Sounds like a blast.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment