Back to the grind tomorrow.

Today was my one chance to work on things I wanted. I spent the early hours assembling some upcoming guest posts. Then there were the inevitable bulldog needs. My back started bothering me again, but just slightly. I moved the doggie bed out to the foot of my chair in hopes of avoiding some of the cuddles today. — Didn’t work. I’m fine, but there was a certain amount of twisting and adjusting so I could type.

There must be a dozen Lisa Burton Radio questionnaires out right now, but nobody returned one this weekend. I have a show for this Thursday, but might not have one the week after at this rate. This has become a pretty popular spot, so if you’d like to take advantage of it drop me a line.

I opened my work in progress, and managed about 1700 new words. Of course I deleted about a thousand of the old words, so it’s about a push. I have this habit of reading the last dozen or so pages before I start writing. I find a lot of mistakes this way. I’m also working with some important plants for later payoffs and I want to make sure everything is in place. Plants and payoffs always work that way for me; two steps forward and one step back.

Overall, I killed three people, captured a runaway slave, and set the stage to free said slave the next time I can tackle new words. No idea when that will be, because I have some things going on next weekend. I need to think up some kind of hinkey slave name for this character now. Maybe something will come to me during my commutes this week.

We discovered another piece of pink plastic in the back yard yesterday. That’s one more than we expected. On the other hand, Frankie is feeling pretty feisty and is back to her crazy old self.

Our new oven works just fine. My wife created some kind of beer braised meatballs that were awesome. She added in some mashed potatoes to go along with the extra gravy they produced. We’re pictures of health around here, but we’re generally pretty happy. Hope all of you enjoyed your weekend too.

41 Comments

Filed under Writing

41 responses to “Back to the grind tomorrow.

  1. Seems things are looking up! Yay on the word count! Always nice. I look back too, but usually only a page or so till I’m editing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mmmmm … mashed taters and gravy. Tastebud heaven! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ever feature rock bands on Lisa Burton radio? LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hurray for the oven and beer braised anything. Sorry about the Lisa Burton delays. It might be a little slow this week since my son is on break, but I can work on an interview if you’re hard up for one. There’s Baron Kernaghan from my series and I don’t think I did one for my final book.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Glad you had such a successful weekend. Hope the back issue doesn’t get worse again. Great to hear Frankie’s back to her “normal” self.

    Sorry I haven’t gotten back to you on the interview we were meant to be doing with Paige. My plan was to do it when the audio versions were available as an extra way to announce those being available. But I’m having narrator issues with that particular project. Yes, still. I’m not impressed, to be honest, and can tell you straight I won’t be working with her again, no matter how well she does the books in this series (assuming she does finally get to them, and I don’t end up deciding enough is enough, and dissolving the contract so I can find someone else).

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Glad the appliance christening went well. Doubly glad Frankie is back to normal.

    Hope your back is holding up.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Glad Frankie’s her feisty self again – and those meatballs sound awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Good news on Frankie! 😀 I love the sound of your meatballs and mash – a great rewards for a productive few days! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Well, sounds like you had a productive day!! This is my only day to get things done… and I’m not doing a very good job with it! Lol!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. So glad to hear Frankie is doing better! Hinkey slave name? I’m curious why hinkey?

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Good old gravy. Yum. Glad you had a good weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I always reread my last scene before starting a new one. Like you said, it helps catch mistakes, and for me it also helps ground me in the story.

    So glad Frankie is back to normal. Now you’ve got to watch out for your back!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Beer-braised meatballs and mash with gravy sounds like serious cold weather comfort food. I’m down.
    I hope your back is not bothering you anymore – I’ll read on – and sure glad Frankie’s spunky again! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Pingback: Writing Links 2/26/18 – Where Genres Collide

Leave a comment