It was a writing day

My word processor said it came to 2770 words. I’m sure they need slicked up, but I can’t complain about something like that.

I spent yesterday, a vacation day, taking care of other chores, but earmarked this one to write. I have two more days at my disposal, but Sundays usually don’t amount to much.

I feel like I could have done more, but fell into some deep research. I can’t send Lizzie to someplace like Hot Springs, Arkansas without bringing in some local color. She spent time in the waters, but was interrupted by a disembodied head. Lizzie never gets a break.

I also had to spend some time coming up with names for racehorses. I tried the Call Annie app, but they were godawful. However, there was the occasional word I sniped, and made up my own. I’ll classify it as moderately helpful.

I decided to add something like a witch convention, but they’re all fake. However, the bad ones are hiding among them and have to be sorted out later. Detlef suggested killing everyone, then calling it a job well done, but Lizzie won’t do that.

All in all, I feel pretty good about it.

We’re probably going to go to a garden center this afternoon. I still need a zucchini for my outdoor pots, or something else fun.

Somewhere along the line, I also need to thin Asian pears and spray for moths. I’ll figure out where that fits in later.

Hope you’re all having a good weekend, and if you have the holiday, I hope it’s a great one.

25 Comments

Filed under Writing

25 responses to “It was a writing day

  1. Sounds like a very productive day to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like a great writing day. Congratulations. BTW there is nothing more fun than a zucchini.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Disembodied heads are always so rude and intrusive.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great progress, Craig. Enjoy your zucchini.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Craig, I’m popping in to say hi. I’m in the Netherlands today 💞. I’m glad you got some good writing in. I wrote a bunch of poems yesterday in the flight from Norway to Amsterdam. I love Lizzie and hope to start book 7 tonight if I’m not exhausted. Travelling with TCis tiring, I have to run to keeep up with him 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great word count! Sounds like everything’s going well altogether. It’s not Detlef’s head, right? Lizzie stories are always fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sounds like a great writing day! And a heck yes to zucchini. It’s such a versatile vegetable.

    Happy Memorial Day!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Congratulations on the word count, Craig! That’s always satisfying. Ironically, I will be going to Hot Springs, Arkansas in July and part of that trip will include the bath houses, although I hope I don’t encounter any floating heads. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. D.L. Finn, Author

    Sounds a good writing day, Craig. Poor Lizzie… lol

    Liked by 1 person

  10. A lovely and productive day! Mine wasn’t quite so unique… no disembodied heads!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Maybe for the horse names you could get a list of those who’ve run in the derby the past few years and mix and match if they’re two names. Just an idea.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment