Checking in

I'm here at the Best Western in Moscow, Idaho. A rather concrete looking motel, if I do say so. Still, my presentation takes place here tomorrow, so that's handy.

I left at about 5:30 this morning and made good time. The Payette River canyon was pretty lonely, which almost never happens. It was early, and wednesday, so that helps. Saw a coyote and two herds of whitetail deer along my route.

Dinner amounted to a sandwich and a platter of Gorgonzola fries. The fries were wonderful. They also have one of my favorite beers called Irish Death. I managed a couple of those.

Getting here early was kind of a bonus. I downloaded a book of my own choosing, and started reading it. This is a singularly rare event. It's been three years since I chose a book to read.

My reading is usually related to my obligations with the Rave Reviews Book Club, or something one of my friends has going on. I do a lot of advance reading, beta reading, and simply supporting friends. I've read some awesome books this way, but there's just something about choosing a book I want to read.

To give you an example, one of my friends has released three books already this year. I simply can't get to them all and continue writing. I have another friends' book in the queue, and I really am excited about this next one.

My current book is an old one, and it does a few annoying things, but I'm enjoying it. I have to remind myself that it's an older style, and I may even finish it tonight.

Tomorrow, I'll make my presentation at mid-day, then drive home. I don't have to return to the office until Monday, so I might get a chance to start writing my next project.

Tonight, I'm going to leave the television off, and curl back up with Dr. Syn, the Scarecrow of Romney Marsh.

26 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

26 responses to “Checking in

  1. Good to hear it was a safe trip and good luck on the presentation. What does that beer taste like?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for checking in. Safe trip home.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Turning off the television is always a healthy move. Cheers to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Irish Death. My kind of drink.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I envy your stamina, if that’s the right word, for reading. These days I can only manage a few chapters before sleep takes me…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Glad you had a safe trip!
    And I know what you mean about reading. I always mix up my reads, with at least every third one being something completely unrelated to authors I know or RRBC. Even then I still have a huge back list to catch up with!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Unfortunately, I have to use time that could be spent writing when I read. That’s why I always seem to take a back seat to project reading. I have some time off coming next week, so that might help in the catch-up department.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Glad you had a safe trip, and were able to do some reading just for own pleasure.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Gorgonzola fries sound amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Three years?! At least you still get to read for pleasure. I bet the library misses your face, lol!
    I hope the time in concrete hotel is a good reading one 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. carmens007

    Oh, Moscow, Idaho!
    Well, for a moment I thought you tarveled to Russia. You said you were going to Moscow in a previous post. Now it’s clear where you are.

    Regarding reading, I don’t know what to say. I never like to read from any kind of obligation. I read because I WANT to read certain books from certain authors. I regretted not being a member in that club – I simply can’t – but now I realize, no matter what advantages I wouldn’t like this aspect.

    Wishing you speed in reading all you MUST and then get time to read what you LIKE!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I think I know that exact hotel. MisCon science fiction conventions used to be held there.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. paulandruss

    Dr Syn alias the Scarecrow was one of my favourite films as a kid… especially as it starred Patrick McGoohan of Dangerman and the Prisoner fame. Thanks for the timely reminder

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment