Time to play, Would You Rather?

The lovely and talented Rachel Carerra tagged me on this little game, and I've been busy. I should have done this a week ago, but life gets in the way sometimes. Thanks for including me Rachel. If you haven't discovered Rachel's blog yet, you're missing out. Get over there and say “Hi.”

I actually enjoy these blog challenges, it's the research that goes into ratting out my friends that drags me down. I'm sure many of you already played this one. Therefore, I'm going to play along, but I won't be ratting out anyone this time. You don't have to flip to the bottom and breathe a sigh of relief.

This game is an attempt to introduce readers to something we don't often talk about. It's fun to know some of our favorite bloggers in more depth. It's about our reading habits and preferences. Here are my answers:

1.) Would you only rather read trilogies, or only read standalones?

I'm sure this is bound to be hard for everyone that plays. It's hard for me. I read across a wide spectrum, and my reading time is precious. I choose standalone stories. I want to know the author left it all on the page, and didn't hold back something for the sequels. I do like the trilogies that amount to one huge door stopper of a novel, broken into digestible chunks.

2.) Would you rather only read male or female authors?

I really don't care who writes it, I just want it to be good. The gender of the author doesn't even come into play. If an alpaca manages to write a great story I'll read it.

3.) Would you rather shop at Barnes and Noble, or Amazon?

I've gone completely ebook. I use my iPad and a kindle app. I've also used the Apple Store on occasion. I love paper books, but convenience won the day. I'm typing this out on my iPad right now, in my camper at the bottom of Hell's Canyon. I have half a dozen books with me today. (I've been concentrating on one written by Rachel.)

4.) Would you rather books were made into TV shows or movies?

I have to go with movies. I'm back to that idea of leaving it all on the page. Eventually a TV show needs to leave the source material behind. The source made the story famous, and carrying on past that sometimes doesn't work well.

5.) Would you rather read five pages per day, or five books per week?

There are times in my life that I can't do either. Five books per week is my preference, but that's never going to happen. Too much other stuff going on.

6.) Would you rather be a professional author, or a reviewer?

For me, author. My regular readers don't even need to ask this to understand. I post reviews, and I try to leave brief statements in my reviews. I hope someday they help someone as a shopper or the author personally. Writing is what I prefer.

7.) Would you rather be a librarian or a bookseller?

I loathe marketing. I'd probably be more successful if I changed my attitude toward it. Libraries are usually nice and quiet, and there would be some blogging and writing time. For me, librarian. (Maybe I could be one of those librarians that goes on quests with Noah Wylie.)

8.) Would you rather only read your favorite genre, or only read anything but your favorite genre?

This is the hardest question for me. I'm sure it's the hardest for everyone. I read broadly, and my favorite changes from year to year. I choose everything but my favorite genre, because my interests change.

9.) Would you rather only read ebooks or physical books?

Who cares, really? The delivery system is secondary to the material. I love my iPad, and will choose that, but only because of the convenience.

Who makes these things up? I want to file a protest with the international fellowship. There ought to be ten questions. It's a nice even number, and Internet lists are always in clusters of ten.

These little exercises are always fun. I appreciate the invite by Rachel, and I hope you enjoyed learning a bit more about me. If you feel like letting us have a glimpse into your mindset, please take these questions and blog about it. You are welcome to link to me as your invitation.

17 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Uncategorized

17 responses to “Time to play, Would You Rather?

  1. That TV show/movie one is tough. For me it would depend on the original story and how far along the author is with it. Once a TV show or movie series gets ahead of a book, things get a little awry. It is strange that there’s no 10th question. Maybe the original creator was Norse and went for the 9 realms theme. *Goes back to watching Thor*

    Liked by 1 person

    • Someone wrote something recently about how Game of Thrones is actually a soap opera. They made great comparisons in the article, and mentioned tha GRRM actually wrote for a soap opera at one time. There might be some risk to that happening.

      Like

      • I’ve heard that mentioned once or twice. To be honest, I never watched the show, so I don’t know how true it is. Seems to be a lot of drama though.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m surprised, you being a fantasy fanatic and all. It’s very good, but the style is something new.

        Like

      • I tried, but it wasn’t really for me. Too dark and seemed to be overly gratuitous. At times the violence and sex struck me as there solely to keep the audience awake instead of story. Not a popular opinion there, but I just couldn’t get into it. Didn’t help that I was constantly being told to change my books to be ‘more like Game of Thrones’.

        Liked by 1 person

      • That comment would irk me too. Your styles are completely different. I try to read across a broad spectrum and I learn every once in a while from that. I watched Chappie last night. Lisa is so much cooler. Reminded me of Robocop with a twist.

        Like

      • I’d heard mixed things about Chappie, but I plan on watching it when it hits the premium channels. As far as GoT, it really is a different kind of fantasy compared to what I normally enjoy. Again, I gave it a try and it didn’t hook me. Think I’m usually so stressed and moody that reading something dark feels like pouring fuel on the black cloud fire.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m with you. I like the satisfaction of closure on stand-alone books and movies versus TV series and book series.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have to agree with you on almost all counts. I much prefer stand-alones. Unless, it’s a series where each book is a different case with the same characters. I’m referring to crime fiction, but you probably knew that. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree with your desire to protest… I thought 10 questions would have fit better, too. You had great answers! And thanks for the love as well! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment