What to do…

I took today off in hopes of doing some writing, but that’s going to fall by the way. I’ve been doing this to gain four-day weekends when the opportunity arises.

This change today is prompted by guests. My brother and mother will show up some time this morning, and I couldn’t be more excited. I haven’t seen either of them for a while, and even though we talk on the phone it isn’t the same.

I can dabble with getting some promotional posts ready for next week. All of those have been well received so far. There are a few that look behind the scenes of my writing habits and they always seem to do well.

Once I get something scheduled, I think I’ll return to a craft book I’ve been reading. It’s a long one, so it’s taking me some time to get through.

Early reviews for Goodbye Old Paint are wonderful. Amazon hasn’t let them through yet, but there are a couple on Goodreads and BookBub if you haunt those places. As any author will tell you, those reviews are everything.

I’m still overloaded with Asian pears. Once the sun comes up I’m going outside to select one for breakfast.

With the book release, and a bit of promo, not writing new fiction for a weekend is almost a relief. It forces me to focus on other things, and family should be at the top of that list.

Old What’s Her Face is otherwise engaged tonight, so I might take the family out for some vampire tacos. There’s a wonderful beer place a couple of blocks from home and their food is great. I’ll probably check out their pumpkin beers to wash it all down with.

29 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

29 responses to “What to do…

  1. Forgot it’s the season for pumpkin beers. Never had a taste for them, but why should coffee have all the fun?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. henhouselady

    Have a great visit.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sounds like a perfect day. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Enjoy your time off and that visit with your mom and brother. Hope you all relax with some pumpkin beer! 🎃

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m so glad that your mom and brother stopped by. The timing seems good with the new book out, which I started yesterday, btw. Enjoy the tacos!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You sent me scurrying to check my kindle but no new Hat book yet 😁. Enjoy the time with family.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hi. Rain, WP ate my comment. It’s lovely that you have family visiting. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. You may not be writing fiction, but you are productive! Okay, so what’s a vampire taco?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Newish concoctions. The shell is either a tortilla that’s been fried in cheese, or in some cases entirely made of cheese. Someone decided the crispy stringers made them resemble bat wings and the name showed up. There are only two places in town that I know of to get them, but one is two blocks away.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. D.L. Finn, Author

    I just went through a huge box of pears my daughter brought. Ended up making a pear cobbler, which was good. I do love fresh pears. Enjoy your family time Craig!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Enjoy the time with your family. Like the pumpkin background!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. How wonderful that your mom and brother got to make it for a visit! Glad reviews are filtering in. I’m anxious to read Goodbye Old Paint. Enjoy your family!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. To me, family time deserves a break from the schedule. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Rakesh Kalra

    Brilliant post.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I got sidetracked because I had to Google what is a vampire taco. Two words: YU-UM! Congratulations on the visitors! I hope you all have an amazing time! ❤ You'll have to cook them your newly famous Dutch Baby for breakfast now. Maybe topped with Asian Pear sauce. 😁

    Liked by 4 people

Leave a comment