Back again, this time with Pinterest

It’s me again. I admit to neglecting this blog and it’s mostly because life gets in the way. While I have a couple of days to string together, I’d like to be a bit more visible.

So many of my posts boil down to what I’ve been working on, with the occasional Dutch Baby lately. I’ll glance off that theme, but also share some things I think are fun.

I’ve shared many times that I think Pinterest is a great resource for authors. I make boards for all my books now, and I keep a bunch of resource boards for certain genres I write in.

There are several that I never have shared. Maybe one of them will inspire some of your writing.

This one doesn’t have much in it, but is what I’m using for the Space Opera I’m working on. You might catch an alien or two, something related the the clones, and more. https://pin.it/6BPQvXz

This one is more related to the one about the television reporter that is aging out of her on-screen job. She and her son are going to discover some amazing things. https://pin.it/7txy1hR

I admit those were a little bit promotional. If you’ve glanced at these before, they are nothing like The Hat board. That one just keeps growing. Maybe I’ll share it sometime down the road when it’s time to do promotion.

I’ve never shared this one, and really don’t know what to do with it. Maybe something will come to me one day. I just really like old cast iron stoves. https://pin.it/fI6Lvle

Here is another one I maintain. There’s a lot of romance about the old horse cavalry. I figure something will come to me one day and I’ll be ready. Maybe it will inspire one of you in your fiction. https://pin.it/4xITKZr

I just started this one, but expect to be inspired by it. I call it crockery and already have a couple of different ideas for some of it. They’re pretty crazy and might take a couple of years to make it into a story. https://pin.it/1mZVJ9N

My genre specific boards are huge compared to these. I frequently look through those as I’m writing. I also have a settings and locations board, but I’ve shared it here before. Do any of you find value in curating such collections? Feel free to use mine if you’re working on something.

26 Comments

Filed under Writing

26 responses to “Back again, this time with Pinterest

  1. Gwen M. Plano

    You have the most amazing Pinterest boards. No wonder your stories are wildly creative. 😄

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I keep forgetting that Pinterest exists. I should really check it out again.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. The crockery board has some beautiful vases. I don’t use Pinterest, but maybe I will some day.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Pinterest is a very useful place. Somewhere else to store all those ideas and images that I have used or will use some day… Quite brilliant at finding just the right material to inspire mw…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Craig, I like your Space Opera board especially the seafood floral display. Pinterest suggested I save it to my desserts board – giggle.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The Banana Pecan Bourbon Dutch Baby caught my eye on your Television Reporter board. 🙂 I love the way you utilize Pinterest. I use it, but mostly to save blog posts I want to find again later. However, I hadn’t thought of Pinterest as a resource for images I’m searching for to revise book covers. Thanks so much for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I hadn’t logged in to Pinterest in ages, but I just did (had to update my password) to check out your boards. I really love the old cast iron stoves, and the cavalry. I used to watch a ton of movies and read books (mostly nonfiction) related to our western cavalry. All good stuff.

    Maybe one of these days I’ll start creating Pinterest boards again too. They are definitely fun to look at!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hmm, the cast-iron stoves and pottery made me think of a survival type person, hidden away from mankind. Not sure why. The space pictures made me hungry for donuts. Don’t ask:) The horse cavalry? Not a clue. Have fun, Craig!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I love Pinterest! While I’m working on a new book, I keep its board private. I change to public once it releases, with the book cover as the board cover, and I’m always surprised by how many re-pin.

    Happy Labor Day!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I really liked the one with the stoves, but I have no idea how I’d use one in a story. I have a board for my WIP, but none where I just post ideas that might inspire me later.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. WOW! Those are really cool, my friend! I think I liked the pink cast iron kitchen the best. The board with the clay pots has some Asian writings on some of them that reminded me of my house growing up where we had every souvenir from Japan and Guam that my grandparents could ship home. I love how organized you are with your visual aids and idea prompts. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment