Welcome Sue Coletta

Sue and I have been friends for ages. She recently became one of our partners over at Story Empire. She also has a new book to tell us about.

I’ve read many of Sue’s books and enjoyed every one I tried. Make her feel welcome today. Don’t be afraid to use those sharing buttons so she gets maximum exposure.

***

Thank you for hosting me today, Craig! I appreciate your kind invite to help me share the news of my latest eco-thriller, Savage Mayhem. The first few chapters of Savage Mayhem take place in Alaska shortly after their previous mission to save orca from evil animal traffickers. Though each novel starts where the previous one left off, every book can stand alone. I write them that way, so readers don’t have to read eight novels to understand the ninth. Hope you enjoy it. ☺

Behind a typical Alaskan cabin, dark reds burned the horizon, embered like coals in a fire, hastened only by dark charcoal clouds. Stripes of salmon interspersed through deep purple bands that warned of turbulence.

Hints of amber kissed the treetops, limbs reaching for Father Sky to celebrate the birth of a new day, the chance to fix yesterday’s mistakes, the future full of possibilities. But darkness still cloaked the street. The in between time, as Shicheii called it, when the night yearned to reign longer.

From the passenger seat, I marveled at the riches of Mother Earth. “It’s so beautiful.” When I turned, I startled when Mr. Mayhem wasn’t beside me. “Running Bear?” My gaze zipped across the front seat. “This isn’t the Caddy.”

He smiled.

“Whose vehicle is this?”

He pointed at the unfamiliar house.

“Say something.”

Another smile.

“Why aren’t you talkin’ to me? Did something happen?” I twisted to peer into the backseat. “Where’s Shadow Wolf?”

His lips moved but no words escaped.

“What’s wrong with you?” A realization flooded my eyes with tears. “Is he dead?” I wailed. “Break it to me gently.” I hiked my knees to my chest and rocked, my heart shredded like meat through a grinder. “Oh, God, he’s dead. Isn’t he?”

Running Bear tapped my shoulder. He said something, but I was so hysterical I didn’t catch it.

“What?”

“He—”

Shaking my head, I fingered my right ear. Blood. What the hell?

He leaned closer, hot breath striking my left cheek. “He’s not dead.”

“Really? Then where is he?”

Again, he leaned forward. And I leaned back.

“What’s up with you?”

Closer and closer, he moved. “Ghost Dog—”

“What?”

The hand signals confused me. What’s wrong with him? I was this close to giving him a piece of my mind when my door flew open. Mr. Mayhem said something, but I didn’t catch it. “What?”

He smiled. I smiled back. Then all the blood registered, his chiseled torso and one cheek bathed in crimson.

“Are you alright?”

Nodding, he swayed an opened hand out the door.

“Say something.”

The hand rolled as if he wanted me to hurry, but I held firm.

“Tell me what’s goin’ on first.”

“Cat, please.” His lips formed the words, but no sound escaped.

Confusion rocked my senses. “Say that again.”

“Cat, please.”

“Why can’t I hear you?”

I swear he rolled his eyes, like this wasn’t news to him. When I parted my lips to question him again, he scooped me off the passenger seat, ushering me into the Caddy.

His lips mouthed, “I. Will. Explain. Later.” He jutted a stiff finger downward. “Now.” He motioned between us. “We.” Two fingers waved down the road. “Must. Leave.”

What’s with the hand signals?

Book description:

Amidst the wild and unforgiving landscapes of Yellowstone Park, join Mayhem, a fearless Apache warrior and champion of the Natural World, and his partner and protégé, Shawnee, as they race against the clock to protect an American Buffalo herd from the ruthless Killzme Corporation.

With a massive bounty on their heads and an army of killers on their trail, Mayhem and Shawnee must use all their cunning and survival skills to outsmart their enemies. They will risk it all to preserve the sacred lineage of the Innocent Ones.

There is no line Shawnee and Mayhem won’t cross.

Even murder.

As the danger intensifies and the clock winds down, will they be able to save the herd? Or will this be the mission that finally breaks them?

Preorder for 99c. Sale ends on release day, April 11, 2024.

 
Find all my books here. Join my newsletter here. Free monthly giveaways!

42 Comments

Filed under Writing

42 responses to “Welcome Sue Coletta

  1. Another perfect read from Sue, I can’t wait to get my copy!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: Welcome Sue Coletta | Legends of Windemere

  3. Congratulations to Sue. I’m sure this will be another excellent addition to her series I’m looking forward to reading this and have my copy pre-orderd!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Gwen M. Plano

    Great post, Craig. I look forward to reading Savage Mayhem and wish Sue all the best. Congratulations, Sue!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Thank you for hosting me, Craig! Much appreciated, my friend. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great to see Sue’s book getting this attention, Craig. My fascination and respect for Native Americans (especially Apaches) draws me to this story.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Nothing I love more than binge reading an entire series at a go, and since I already have the first seven of these books awaiting me, I do believe I should get going on this one. I’m gonna go ahead grab the latest volumes and get started, and I know I’m gonna love them all. (Nothing like a little mayhem to add interest to our days, right?)

    Great post! Thanks for hosting Sue today, Craig, and congratulations on your latest work, Sue. Now I’m off to Amazon! 😊❤️😊

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Congratulations to Sue on releasing another work of art, and thanks to Craig for highlighting it for us. Wishing both you hard-working writers the very best.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Terrific excerpt, Sue. Congratulations on your latest. Thanks, Craig for hosting.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Enticing excerpt, Sue. What a great addition to this series. John–love the reminder to readers to share. I’ll be adopting that.

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Best of luck with your new book, Sue! And thanks for sharing it, Craig. I have to admit, I wish I’d have read the book description before I read the excerpt, because I wouldn’t have been so confused. But after I reread the excerpt, things fell into place. 

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Congrats to Sue on this fascinating new book!

    Liked by 2 people

  13. WordPress finally let me in! Sharing!!

    Liked by 2 people

  14. Another great excerpt, Sue. Beautiful description of the Alaskan setting.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Hi Craig, a great post. I loved the description of the sky. South African skies look like that at sunset if it’s stormy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment