The struggle is real

I really wanted to sleep in this morning, but the dogs had other ideas. Old What’s Her Face is in Utah for a funeral, and it’s another bachelor weekend for me.

By the time I did all my chores, I wound up getting a late start. The blog world has been a busy place lately, and I always like to check on everyone before I get started.

I wolfed down an Asian pear, then it was time to get moving. This is the middle slog, but I thought I did some great character work, added some local flavor, and included a bit of tension.

This tale is set in the Seattle area, so I included Rainier beer, then had a character read the label and notice it was brewed in Golden Colorado. Might not mean much to the average person, but I like it.

Rick the television cameraman needed a wife. I didn’t want to fart around with name lists, so asked Annie the AI for a name. It’s fast and good enough. The woman only gets a couple of paragraphs and I wanted to forge ahead. I asked her for a popular woman’s name from 1990. Boom – Done. (It’s Megan. Doesn’t conflict with Jenny, Cody, Bai, or Rick.)

I also needed an art word and could not remember it for the life of me. Annie told me it’s “foreshortening.” I included it in a bit of dialog. Annie does speed things along. I could have spent an hour trying to Google it.

It’s 1:00 here now and I wanted to get a quick word count to share. When it only came to 1000 words, it kind of made me sad. I really thought I’d gotten farther. Guess it’s still the middle slog after all.

Here’s the thing about bachelor weekends. I don’t have to respect anyone else’s needs. If I want to go back to it this afternoon, I can. If I want to write tomorrow, I can do that, too. I can stay up all night if I feel the urge.

Right now, I’m feeling some salami, a coffee, and maybe another Asian pear.

28 Comments

Filed under Writing

28 responses to “The struggle is real

  1. Food and drink choice on a batch weekend is great too.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Is AI Annie a program you download? I hate when I can’t come up with the right word for what I’m trying to covey!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Good work, Craig! Your work ethic always impresses me. A bachelor weekend does allow more freedom for doing what you want to do.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Annie seems pretty useful. Is she mostly for getting info like Siri and Alexa?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I don’t know what HH would do if he had a bachelor weekend. Might not want to know:) Character development and some tension sounds great for the middle muddle to me. Enjoy your alone time, Craig!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I spent time researching popular Scottish female names from the mid 1800s last Friday, and now I’m wondering why I didn’t ask Annie. Sure would have saved some time.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Every post I read increases my curiosity more about Annie. Sounds like she might need to be added to your writing cabin crew. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I like how you use AI to help out and speed up some simple things like naming, which can sometimes bog us down. Thanks for the idea!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. A thousand words does sound like a slog for you, but you know you’ll have other more productive days because you always do.
    The last of my Asian pears sits on my desk at work. I’ll need to buy another 6 this weekend — that’s $12. They’re huge, and they’re delicious, and they’re about half the fiber for a day, but so pricey, and take a week to ripen. I went and got sick so I missed my updated purchase and have to start all over.
    I haven’t had a weekend alone since 2004. I don’t know what on earth I would even do. I guess I’m not lacking lol

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Hi Craig, I think you did well. I wish I got bachelor weekends but somehow, my sons always stay with me.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Sounds like a fun weekend! It always feels great to boost the wordcount. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment