Not the day I had planned

I wound up with an unexpected 4:00 a.m. alarm clock this morning. Frankie decided to wake up and barf.

I ran them both outside, then prepared their breakfast. I scrubbed the carpet while they ate. Seems so silly of me now. What I need to do is burn the house down and rebuild from the ashes.

This is because we managed to hit eleven barfs in total. Including all that dog food that went down around 4:15.

We have a lot of hard surfaced flooring, but they always target either a rug or the carpet. I spent a lot of time on my knees scrubbing away, and many paper towels were sacrificed. My back keeps reminding me of my morning efforts.

Somewhere +/- barf #4 a big piece of Nylabone came up. These are the rubber ones they seem to love more than life itself. I figured that would be the end of it, but I was wrong. Frankie’s brother never swallows the pieces, just her.

Along about noon she started feeling better. She acted like she was on her death bed for hours, then started playing with one of her safer toys. (I put the rubber ones away)

This means no new fiction for me, and it might be for the whole weekend the way Sundays usually go.

When it looked like the coast (carpet) was clear, I dove into Seas of Time by D. Wallace Peach. It wound up being different than I expected, but I really enjoyed it. It’s a mash up of something with a message and voodoo with a fun gargoyle character involved. You might like it, too.

Tomorrow might give me an hour or so to check on Lizzie and the hat, but Sundays are never the sweet spot for me.

Hope you had a better Saturday, and a less septic one.

26 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

26 responses to “Not the day I had planned

  1. Yikes. That would definitely derail most writing days. Glad Frankie is okay.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. It takes some time and effort, but good friends are worth it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yuck, so gross. Hope Frankie is over the worst of it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Poor Frankie. I’ glad she is feeling better. Those Nylabones just don’t move through the system. `Wishing you a calm Sunday.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. My darling usually waits until just before we go to bed or the next morning to barf – with the same result, scrubbing rugs. Why doesn’t he barf on the flooring, which is so much easier to clean? Luckily that bit of rubber came up or you would have been in for a big vet bill.

    Hope today is more relaxing!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh dear, the plight of us dog owners. I hope he is Ok now. I also just read and enjoyed the Seas of Time. Only Diana Peach could write a story like this and do a great job.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Yikes! Poor Frankie! Hope the worst is passed. I agree about The Seas of Time. A story with unexpected twists!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Our little chihuahua always had accidents on the kitchen floor, not carpeted. I appreciated that. The cat does whatever he wants. But what a way to spend your day! Ich! Glad Frankie’s all right, though. Hope you had a nice Sunday.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’m so glad Frankie is feeling better. We have hard surfaces, too, and the cats always wait until they’ve reached the throw rugs.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. With Bond and his hairballs he chooses carpet about 90% of the time. Just to give us more work. Glad she’s feeling better!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Pingback: June 18, 2024 – Where Genres Collide Traci Dowe YA Author

  12. My dogs used to always hit the one carpet in the sea of hardwood floors. Hope your weekend improved, Craig.

    Let’s see… On Saturday, I was pigging out on lobsters and steamers, so I had a delightful day. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Hmmm! My son wants a dog but you are putting me off. Cats are so much easier and I can carry Push around like a baby. Sorry about your Saturday, Craig, life does this sort of thing to us.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment