Did what I could today

Sundays are never good writing days for me. This is the day I call my parents, and that usually eats up a considerable part of the morning. The other bookend is when Old What’s Her Face gets home from work.

Since I just saw my parents, and they’re coming tomorrow to get the repairs finished, our conversation was short. What to do? What to do?

I cracked open the Lanternfish MS, read the two previous chapters, then started writing. James and crew are on the open ocean once more and headed for war. Piracy is a distant memory for now.

I even managed a good section with root monster antics. Today’s effort only came to 1500 words, but I like what I accomplished. Chapters have to bounce between characters since some of them are in other places right now. I feel like it was a productive day.

I also addressed the Lanternfish critiques I’ve been parked on. This chapter was about my married cons, and the game they’re working. My experts seemed to like it, but I made plenty of boneheaded mistakes to address.

I also wrote my next post for Story Empire. I’ll get it scheduled sometime this afternoon.

While none of it seems outstanding by itself, when you tally it all up, I had a pretty good writing day. I was due, and feel good about how the weekend shaped up.

Hope all of you had wonderful weekends, too.

27 Comments

Filed under Writing

27 responses to “Did what I could today

  1. Sounds like a very good Sunday

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on the progress. Does seem like Sundays are tougher for writing than Saturdays in general.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sounds like you had a great day. Good for you. I’m looking forward to tasting VooDoo Ranger International IPA tonight.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Progress always makes me feel better. Glad you started your week on a good note!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. More productive than my Sunday – I did bugger all. But then, I did kill my word limit last week with the new schedule, and ended up with 5000 on the WIP and 1000 on a short story. So, pretty happy with that.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I had every intention of doing some writing yesterday. It happened to be the day my anti-virus software expired and I installed a new product. The new product did an initial scan before it would let me use my computer and this took about four hours. Since this was the four-hour block I had allocated for writing, I took a nap and played princess with my granddaughter instead. It turned out to be a pretty good Sunday even though I accomplished absolutely nothing.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Well, you made progress. Sundays are generally not good writing days for me, either.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. i never seem to get much done on Sundays except my Monday morning post. I’d love to get in 1500 words.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. It sounds like you had a very productive day. Way to go!
    Sunday afternoons are usually when I’m able to concentrate on writing, editing, or both. Since I’ve finished my WIP, I’m currently in editing mode. I was fortunate this weekend that I got to focus on the WIP both Saturday and Sunday!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Sounds like a good weekend. We immersed ourselves in the playoffs this weekend, ate way too much and stayed up late, but had a blast. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Sounds like a very productive Sunday. Glad you got so much done.

    We made great progress in the craft room Sunday, but it did also end up carried over to Monday. Even now there are still some boxes that need to be unpacked. Basically, it’s now caught up with the other rooms, where the bulk of it is done, and the room is usable for its purpose, but there are still a handful of boxes we need to unpack and organize the contents of. I’m pleased with our weekend’s work though (even though it ended up being a three day weekend job) especially since it was also somehow achieved without a single argument about placement of things, etc. Which, being married yourself, I’m sure you can appreciate is quite an achievement. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I did not write at all this last weekend, but I did read, AND IT WAS GOOD 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Sounds like a great day to me, Craig. I’m stuck with a plot issue in my current WIP. I cannot decide what to do with my character’s father who abandoned him at the age of 12. I’m verging on killing him off just not to have to deal with him. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment