Updating from Big Sky

I’m at the convention for my paycheck job. Lot’s of chatting and politicking going on this week. Enough about work. Tonight includes an event I always skip, and I have an evening to myself.

Big Sky is a ski resort area, and it’s not terribly far from Yellowstone. I intended to grab some pictures for this update, but today was the day a huge thunderstorm decided to strike. This resort has multiple hotels, and the business events are spread all over the place. I got soaked a couple of times walking from venue to venue. A couple of the people I’m with wanted to ride the chair lifts to the top of the mountain, but they got closed due to lightning.

I have some interior shots I can share. My room is really nice, even though it has a Murphy bed. The bed is comfortable, so it’s no big deal really.

Looking the other direction, I even get a mini kitchen. Too bad I don’t have any food to prepare.

No really, it’s too bad I don’t have food. A simple breakfast here is eighteen dollars, and my hamburger lunch came to twenty-five with a drink. It’s pretty typical resort pricing, unfortunately. I get a meal per deum, and it doesn’t even begin to cover the actual cost.
I waited out the worst part of the thunderstorm in the tiny lobby. It looks cool though, and I snapped a shot or two for you.

I really like the carved base of that couch. My iPad Pro would work very well on this antique desk too. I don’t think my rear end would get along with that chair for long though. If this desk were in my room, instead of the lobby, I would try writing at least a micro-fiction piece just for the ambiance.
There is a cowhide on the wall of my room. I know this would look awesome on the new grey flooring we just installed at home. I’m pretty sure Old What’s Her Face would never go for it, but I like it. I’m also sure Otto and Frankie would find it tasty in some way. (Leather = rawhide toy.)


I’m trying to keep up with all my various social media. I caught Facebook a couple of times, but Twitter is off the radar while I’m here. I just don’t have enough time for all of that. I am a guest at the Storyreading Ape’s site today, and I’ve been trying to keep up with the comments over there. Drop in if you haven’t already and I’ll surf through for a couple more days. Hold down the fort while I’m away.

37 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

37 responses to “Updating from Big Sky

  1. Looks like a relaxing place. Sorry to hear about the storms.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hope the weather improves!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Per deums are usually based on the presumption of buying bread and water. Your room does look nice and too bad there isn’t a store close by. A few porters, some cheese, and crackers might stay within the per deum. Good luck.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Very pretty place 🙂 I likey. I love to stay in luxury hotels and resorts and eat $12 chocolate cake and rich coffee 🙂 That’s my thing.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. It has a lot of personality, those furnishings. A Murphy bed, huh? That is just begging for a fictional dead body, isn’t it? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • There you go. Is it cliche to name him Murphy? Actually, I have a room with two closets at home, and a Murphy bed would fit perfectly between them.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I have an antique Murphy bed in my house. It is carved with some nifty details and has the original springs and a mirror. It stands like a large mantle piece without the fireplace. The woman I bought it from died a few months later but she said that she had originally bought it from a family named Murphy (An eccentric family in town. There were several siblings who were uber wealthy and lived together in a large house into their old age but never married.). She believed it was haunted. I’ve always wanted to write a story about it but where to start… It struck me tonight that it needs to start with a dead body tucked inside.

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s so cool. You have a perfect starting place, and an eccentric family is a plus, add in a house rumored to be haunted and it could be a masterpiece.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. No shots of the storm, Craig?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I saw your post on Chris’ blog, and shared it via Twitter.

    I hope you were able to enjoy the evening to yourself, and didn’t end up getting soaked through too often while at the convention resort in the storm.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Looks like a nice place. Too bad about the resort pricing, though. Maybe there’s a store nearby for sandwich fixings.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. D.L Finn, Author

    Looks like a nice place to stay.. Love that desk. Hope the weather settles down for you and you can get out and explore… Although I do enjoy a good thunder storm and always attempt to capture shots of it.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Can’t beat a good old storm! Looks a nice place, got a horror feel to it but that’s my mind 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Too bad about the storms – that would have been a nice ride to the top of the mountain.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Pingback: Writing Links…9/18/17 – Where Genres Collide

  13. Check out my blog! You will love it! I promise!

    Like

Leave a Reply

