Let’s all celebrate High Treason

Back in 1776, a group of British subjects, men of stature and position, signed a document that proved conclusively they were committing high treason. Today we would call it Exhibit Number One at their hanging.

Their chances of success weren’t all that good, England held the most powerful military on Earth, and had all the muscle they needed to crush these rebels like grapes.

More signatures were added later, but they all walked in knowing what the stakes were. I find this line to be almost chilling, but very few take the time to interpret what it’s actually saying: “… with a firm reliance on the protection of divine Providence, we mutually pledge to each other our Lives, our Fortunes and our sacred Honor.”

They weren’t kidding either. The penalty for this kind of treason was death. These were educated men, with something to lose, but they consciously chose to move ahead.

Americans are not held in high regard these days, even within our own borders. Still, the ramifications of the Declaration of Independence circled the globe and changed the course of history forever. Even the British monarch no longer holds the kind of power held in 1776. I think those ideals in the document are something we can all still support.

Happy Fourth of July from Entertaining Stories. You guys be careful with fireworks out there now.

Still reading? You really should go have a beer and a hotdog. As a late addition I find that Jefferson should have used an Oxford comma. I also find it interesting that he wrote honor, as opposed to honour. It was written by a British subject at the time. Finally, knowing the military odds, I think divine Providence must have played a role in the outcome.
28 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

28 responses to “Let’s all celebrate High Treason

  1. Happy 4th. 🎆 That’s a pretty big noisemaker Lisa has there.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Funny how we like to celebrate treason. We do in this country too on Nov 5th. I wonder if the honor thing is something that hapoened later when the quote was rewritten and rewritten until it was no longer honour but honor?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy Fourth to you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Reblogged this on Archer's Aim and commented:
    Here’s today’s post from C. S. Boyack. Good reminder of how dicey our roots as a nation were…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Happy 4th of July 💟💜

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Excellent post, Craig. Love the kiss mark on Fat Boy

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Happy Independence Day, Craig! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Happy July 4th Lisa and Craig.. brave men and it was not working the way it was…

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Happy 4th! Already way over-did it on the food. Sigh. Can’t help it all the good stuff comes out at these gatherings. I see much work in my future, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I’m late chiming in. I’ve had computer woes for several days (PC and laptop are both in for repair), but I wanted to comment because I thought this was a great way to look at the 4th. I know yours was nothing like you planned and ended on a sad note. Give Otto and Frankie an extra hug from me.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Pingback: Writing Links 7/10/17 – Where Genres Collide

  12. This was one of the best 4th of July posts I’ve read. Mae’s comment leaves me wondering what I’ve missed, though, and I hope I haven’t opened old wounds as I catch up.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

