Release the pressure, be calm

It's fairly well documented that I put pressure on myself, then I stress when things don't go according to plan. Today I did something about it.

I asked for vacation time all next week, and it got approved. I feel like the clouds have parted, and the pressures all disappeared. Of course, I set the stage for a good week by finishing my beta edits over the weekend. After a couple of read throughs, I can send The Enhanced League to the formatter. I'm toying with the idea of including all the Lisa Burton posters at the end. Maybe someone will like them as cool freebies.

Once I get Enhanced League to the formatter, I need to start on edits for The Yak Guy Project. I also need to write tour posts for Enhanced League. Once I have everything, I'll put out a call for hosts, and try to figure out if they want me or Lisa to visit their sites.

If I can do all that, and get Yak Guy ready for beta readers, it will have been a good vacation. I don't feel like it's a huge, unreasonable goal. I don't have to go back until July third, and then I get the fourth off.

I have my critique group in there somewhere, so I'll have to work up their pages. I sent my own submission off this evening… while enjoying a glass of Talisker.

For those who are waiting, we took Otto back to the vet this afternoon. This whole pain thing has nothing to do with pecans. It's a neurological thing, involving his spine somewhere around his tail. He is in incredible pain, and we now have even more medication to try.

What really bothers me about this is that on Friday he was the happiest dog in the world. Today he can barely walk. We can't think of anything that happened to him, beyond the pecan debacle, and the vet says it has nothing to do with that. He didn't fall, nobody was physically abusive to him, the puppies certainly didn't hurt him. We're supposed to give him his medication and stand by. We were told to keep him calm for about ten days even after he starts feeling better. I guess in baseball terms, he's on the ten day DL list.

56 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

56 responses to “Release the pressure, be calm

  1. Really hope Otto feels better soon. Weird that it seemed to just happen without a cause.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. That’s kinda cute, wordwise, Otto bein on the DL list, but also, sad stuff. 😦
    I’m glad you’re getting a vacation. The Mister’s getting one, too, but I don’t think I can, or Sassy can, so I don’t think we’re gonna be able to go away-away.
    I hope you enjoy the time πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Having knees that can go from comfy to excruciating in a matter of moments I can tell you that it could be something as simple as a tail-wag, or even getting up/down, slipping a little bit, just a slight movement that is out of sync.

    Poor Otto. May the new drugs work swiftly.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Sorry to hear about your dog. Hope he recovers soon. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It makes me saddest when animals and kids suffer. They just don’t understand anything except the pain. I have my fingers crossed that he recovers quickly, though just having you home might help him an awful lot more than the drugs.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. So sorry to hear of Otto’s troubles. He’s so young, yet. Is there any such thing as a doggie chiropractor?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. You did the right thing to take leave, Craig. Some times it is necessary to just catch up and have a bit of space. Sorry about poor Otto. I am sure he is getting the best treatment possible.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. So sorry to hear about Otto. Praying it’s something which can be healed with no lasting effects.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Poor Otto… I’m waiting to see a neurologist myself, so I know how he feels. Hope the meds help. Enjoy your time off next week. Sounds like you’re on a mission to get stuff done. You will feel great then. 😊

    Liked by 2 people

  10. I hope Otto’s pain vanishes as fast as it arrived, and that you make good use of your vacation time…

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I’m sorry to read about poor Otto.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I hope you manage to relax on your time off, but it sounds like you have so much to do! Hopefully your dog will start to feel better soon too.
    If you need blog hosts for your new work, I’m happy to help:)

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Poor Otto, hope he’s feeling better soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Good on you for doing something positive for you. As for Otto, could he maybe have strained a muscle in his back area by straining to poop? It just seems odd that the pecan incident happened and now he has pain… like, too coincidental.

    Liked by 2 people

  15. Craig, you’re welcome (and so is Lisa) to visit my site any time 😊 And I hope Otto feels better soon x

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Glad about your vacation and writing progress. You know you’re welcome on my site anytime.

    Sorry about Otto. It’s frustrating when we don’t know what happened or how to fix it. We went home a few Christmases ago, and our younger dog started limping. No idea why. Nothing happened to him. Vet said it was hip dysplasia. Out of the blue like that? No gradual progression? We went months on pain med after pain med. Finally tried stem cell replacement surgery. That was supposed to be a certainty. It wasn’t. Doc says swimming is the best thing for him. Took him in the pool for the first time this season last night… he can barely walk this morning. He’s already on twice-daily pain management medicine, but I had to give him flare-up medicine this morning, too. It’s simply heartbreaking when they hurt and we can’t fix it and don’t understand why. I really hope Otto is on the mend quickly.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Great news about your vacation time. Hope you manage to achieve all you plan to in that time, and get at least most of the items checked off of that to-do list of yours.

    Sorry to hear about Otto. On the one hand, the fact it’s not anything to do with the pecans is a good thing, since you don’t have to avoid having nuts around in future to avoid the same thing happening. On the other hand, at least if it was that it might have been all over by now, and would have been an easy fix. I hope the new medication is helping him, and he’s back to his playful self again soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. I hope you get a lot accomplished with your vacation time. You’ve got a good plan to pull everything together.

    I hope the new medication makes a difference for Otto. It sounds like he is really having an awful time of it. It’s good that you’ll be on vacation so you can be around and keep an eye on him. He’ll probably like the company too, just knowing that you’re there. Poor little guy. Keep us posted about him.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Awwww, poor Otto. Hope he is better soon. Enjoy the vacation and hope you reach your goals!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Poor Otto – sending lots of pain-free ((((((cuddle-vibes))))) over to you! πŸ™‚
    Glad to hear your vacation planning has been timed to perfection Craig! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  21. When my dog was near the end of her life, I took her outside by looping a towel under her belly, just in front of her back legs, and supporting some of her weight.

    Hopefully Otto’s not in such bad shape, but that could be a short-term thing to help him get around.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. I, too, hope that Otto feels better soon. It’s heartbreaking when our animal companions are in pain.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Yay for the vacation time, but I hate to hear that about Otto. Hope the meds can make a difference for him. And you know you’re always welcome at my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Oh, no! You guys must be worried sick about Otto. It’s such a helpless feeling to wait. {{{hugs}}}

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

