A good writing day

I landed out at the writing cabin at quarter to seven. I moved the little gyrocopter to the elevator and went in through the basement. It's still too dark to risk walking to the back door out here, and I didn't need the mammoth migration to decide my gyro looked like a good butt scratcher.

Lisa* had the office all ready for me, and handed me some coffee as I passed through the kitchen.

Yak guy wound up rescuing the children, now he has to figure out what to do with them. It's a long way to safety, and there is no home to return to. It was a good section, and I got about 2500 words in. We killed the bad guys yesterday, and today was a toning down that brought new problems. Now there's the possibility of more bad guys out there, being discovered by them, facing the wilderness, and keeping a bunch of kids safe and sound.

I weaved my hands behind my head and reflected on it – for about three seconds.

“Hey, you kids, put that down. Get out of the paranormal office. Yes, that's sharp.”

“Lisa, what's going on out there?”

“You wrote all these kids into existence, and I can't watch them all.”

“Can you get Yak Guy to help?”

“He's trying, but they're everywhere at once.”

“Run them all outside, and position them like a baseball team.”

“Are you serious?”

“Yup. It's nice out, and I'm going to write another Enhanced League story. They can fill in while we work on dialog.”

I moved my iPad to the deck, and looked at the position players. Our grass was dead, long, and muddy, but I used my imagination and hacked my way through. Lisa fetched some equipment from the basement, and she and Yak Guy each fielded a team. The yak himself served as the umpire, and the kids actually listened to him.

It wound up qualifying as a short story, and not a micro, so I felt pretty good about that too. If you add them together the word count is the best I've done for a while. If you include this post, it will break 5000 words.

I put my hat back on, and put my iPad away.

“Hold it, buster. Where are you're going?”

“Home. All this ball playing reminds me that I need to play some too, with Otto.”

“What am I supposed to do with all these kids?”

“I don't know. Make them clean your radio studio?”

“My studio, and the cabin are spotless.”

“Make them play baseball until they're all tired.”

“I don't even have enough food for all of them, and where are they going to sleep?”

“They aren't picky. I wrote them a bunch of tents, put them in there.”

“Right, with all the creepy stuff that wanders around this cabin, I'll have to guard them all night.”

“It isn't like you sleep anyway.”

“I still need to recharge, and I like to take a bubble bath at night. What then?”

“Look, you're going to have to improvise. You have the yak, and Yak Guy Ted can help too.”

“Fine, but after these books are drafted, I'm putting in for some leave.”

“You should. We'll be in edit and beta mode and you can get away then.”

“I will too. Don't think I won't.”

“Okay, bye. Good day today.”

Whatever.”

*Lisa Burton is my personal assistant, and the spokesmodel for my writing career. She's also a robot, and makes regular appearances on the blog and in cyberspace.

23 Comments

Filed under Muse

23 responses to “A good writing day

  1. Glad to hear you had a good day!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Super, Craig. Sounds like a good one.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think I’m with Lisa on the unexpected flood of kids. πŸ™‚ Too bad the writing cabin doesn’t have a playground . . . Uh . . . I don’t know how to continue after the accidental pun.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I knew she was gonna scold you. I hope she gets that bubble bath πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Always such fun following you around…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sounds like a great day. I’ve been in the mode of writing from about 10PM to 1AM lately. I’m not sure why, but I think with everyone asleep, it’s been a very productive time.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hold out a really decent long break, Lisa – you deserve it! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sounds like a highly productive day. I always enjoy your peeks into what happens at the writing cabin and the paranormal office. I sense a shopping spree in the works for Lisa after this one.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Hahaha. Love your conversations with Lisa. You had an amazingly productive day. Good for you! No better feeling.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

