Writing Science Fiction Stories – Guest Post by Craig Boyack…

I’m over at The Storyreading Ape’s blog today, and the topic is science fiction. Stop over and say hi.

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

In previous posts on this site I’ve talked about writing paranormal tales, my love of short fiction, and fantasy. I also write a bit of science fiction, and that’s the topic today.

14102242_283085175405826_2846118834283311669_n

We grow and mature as we write. The more we produce, the more we learn about ourselves. I love a good space opera. I read them, I go to movies with that theme… I don’t write them well. Maybe I should make this one of my personal challenges, but sometimes you just have to face facts.

My science fiction works best as what I call “ten minutes into the future.” I totally stole that from an old television series that was based upon a New Coke advertisement. Bonus points if you remember.

I write better science fiction that is more like Planet of the Apes. I really enjoy them, and feel no need to test the space opera…

View original post 334 more words

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Writing Science Fiction Stories – Guest Post by Craig Boyack…

  1. Re-blogged & tweeted from Chris’ blog for you 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I bet sci-fi isn’t easy to write, to keep it plausible without falling over the line into too unrealistic. IMO, the most amazing sci-fi writers make you wonder, What if this was possible?

    Liked by 1 person

    • There is a rift in the community between those who want the science and as much plausibility as possible, and others who use it more like scenery. I probably lean more toward the scenery crowd, in that I believe good stories are about people more than technology.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

