A whole bunch of cool stuff

Today turned out to be pretty busy, and I want to share some of it with you. The first part involves blogging buddy, Victo Dolore. She's served as a beta reader for me, and I've appeared on her blog a time or two. The good Dr. Dolore writes fiction on occasion, and she's very good at it. Right now it's kind of a serialized story on her blog. It's a tale of intrigue and conspiracy. I was pleasantly surprised to find myself as a character in her story. I'm even a doctor, so cool points for me. Please check out her wonderful site. The story is relatively new, so it isn't hard to catch up, and she provided convenient links to help you out. Go see what Dr. Boyack gets up to on her site, and check out some of her wonderful posts while you're there.

Secondly, the Rave Reviews Book Club is holding their virtual convention right now. The wonderful Jan Sikes is making a presentation about marketing today, and she's using me as an example. (Don't know whether it's a good or a bad example, but hey – all publicity is good right?) I never signed up for this convention, because I had to work the last two days, and today I have company. They promised to archive the sessions for folks to view later, and I'll share a link here after I figure it all out. For today, maybe you'd like to stop by Jan's virtual author booth and check out her wares.

Speaking of company, Mom & Dad are here. I never get to hang out with them together and have to pick and choose. Last time I went to town with Mom. Dad and I usually watch a video or something, but today I made us different plans. We went to the Warhawk Air Museum in Nampa. This wonderful museum has quite a few vintage airplanes from WWI through Korea. I'll share a few images here, and I hope it doesn't make the page load too slowly. The museum site has a pretty cool virtual tour that works great on my iPad, so you might want to check it out.

Not exactly Red Baron red, but it's the same airplane. This one is a replica, because apparently there are no originals left.

I thought this trainer was pretty cool. It has mechanical equipment below it so it can act like a mechanical bull. Note the vintage bicycles behind it. There is so much stuff here that you can spend hours and hours. A lot of it is small, and you have to pay attention.

The main attractions are the Warhawks. They both appeared in the movie Pearl Harbor, because they both still fly. Some of these kind of things are getting pretty scarce. The parrot one is the one they let us get a close look at today.

We didn't get close to this one, because some asshat decided to wax the floor. He told us not to go across his floor. Now they open at 10:00, and I understand they are all volunteers. If today was floor waxing day, I think an 8:00 waxing isn't too much to ask. Anyway, I got to enjoy it from afar.

This Mustang is pretty awesome too. They fared a little bit better, because the air racers like them. There are any number of them that have competed in Reno over the years. Still, seeing one up close is quite a treat.

We got to see Saber Jets, Huey helicopters, and even a Russian Mig. I won't slow the page down any more than I have to for some of that. We both got a kick out of the D-Day glider that someone made into a camp trailer. The museum bought it while it was rotting in a field, stripped off anything that looked like a camper, and have the framework on display. I hope they can restore it one day, but it was still interesting.

One of the small things that I saw several of were eight day clocks. I don't know much about them, except for an old saying, “Wound up like an eight-day clock.” I never gave it much thought until today, but now I want to know more.

My mind is reeling with ideas of things to have Lisa Burton pose with. She would look great with any of these airplanes, or painted across the nose of one. They also had a bunch of home front memorabilia, and hundreds of small things that would be fun. Lisa would look great posing with these things too, WAC uniforms, flight jackets, etc.

I think she'd look pretty damned cute in this cap too.

I already have one poster I'm holding right now, and two more on commission. Maybe I'd better pay the bills before I commission more, but these make for some great ideas.

Dad's in his 80s, and he's kind of limited as to what he can do. They have chairs everywhere, and we had to take a couple of breaks, but he had a great time. His older brother was in the Navy during WWII, so that made it more interesting. I'm so glad we decided to do this today rather than find a college football game. We can always do that, but this was unique and fun.

I hope you guys are having a great weekend.

30 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

30 responses to “A whole bunch of cool stuff

  1. Museum looks interesting. Thnks for sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Love the look of those planes. Seem so elegant and awe-inspiring. For some reason, more so than more modern ones.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. You make a good character. Thanks for not being mad that I used you. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Cool museum -I would really enjoy seeing those planes, So would my son!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Looks like a wonderful day. When we lived in Ohio, we took family to the WPAFB museum. Our aeronautical history is fascinating, and the whole group enjoyed themselves. You’re right; you can always catch a game. But this memory will stick with you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks for the mention, Craig. The conference has been pretty awesome! A huge learning curve for all of us, but so much great information being shared.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Awesome post! So busy of everything! And I looove your new wallpaper!
    I like the plane places, too. 🙂
    I got a huge kick outta Dr Dolore’s story. That’s a lot of fun 🙂

    I’ve been runnin around crazy all day, cookin, cleanin, rakin, shoppin, laundry — but tomorrow night, it will all be over, people will go home, and I have a new book to crack 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I think she would too. Those Warhawks are so cool. Looks like you and Dad had a wonderful day. Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. That’s like way beyond cool!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. This is a whole bunch of cool stuff! And Lisa would look great posing with it 🙂 Enjoy your time with your folks

    Liked by 1 person

  11. That museum looks awesome, but even better is that you got to enjoy a day out with your parents. I’m sure they loved it, and doing things with family is fun and doubly important as we age. Great too about “Dr. Boyack” and Jan using your blog in a presentation. Like you said a lot of cool things for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I love air museums and airshows.

    One of my grandfathers was a navy pilot in the Pacific, flying a “black cat”, an old PBY Catalina painted black so it could attack Japanese convoys at night. I went with him to one of his unit reunions, where they gave me a badge like I was one of them, and they would all come up to me and make jokes like I hadn’t aged at all since the war.

    My other grandfather was in Europe. It was his job to fly the planes which had been shot up and repaired, and certify them as fit to return to combat. So, he got to fly pretty much every model we had.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

