A few loose things

I watched old movies, played with an app, and wrote another short piece. I also ordered some promotional material that I can use during some future promotions. I’ll address all of them in sections.

The new app simply allows me to take a photo and add text to it. All of the ones I’ve tried so far are kind of burdensome to use. This one is even worse, because it doesn’t allow me to squeeze it into a vertical shape, it simply flows beyond the box and doesn’t show everything I typed. I have other apps that work better.

Sometimes it’s nice to make up an image for a pinned tweet and get a few more words by making them part of the photo. Still, I made this and it might give some of you a chuckle.

I spent some time with my old mentor, Sir Alfred Hitchcock today. Since Halloween is on a Monday, they decided today was a good day for a film festival. I caught some of Vertigo, watched all of Psycho, and turned it off when The Birds came on. I think The Birds had a great concept, but failed to deliver. No doubt there are people who disagree with me, but that’s my opinion. I wish one of these outfits would rediscover Rope, I loved that one.

Psycho was ground breaking in its day. It was the first one that showed murder so brutally. Hitchcock was known as the master of suspense, but he drifted into horror territory with this one. (Aside: I could sure see Jamie Leigh Curtis’ face in some images of her mother.)

Psycho started kind of an arms race. Prior to this, monsters lumbered, howled, and threatened. I believe this was the catalyst of all the gore that’s come to be expected in the horror genre, and I think that’s what eventually killed it off. If Psycho were to be made today, Bates would have had sex with Janet Leigh’s corpse before dismembering it (Requiring power tools that are deafeningly loud), and possibly eating the evidence.

I kind of wish we could go back and erase all the blood and gore from this genre. That’s why I try to include a bit of suspense, but leave the rest out.

I broke down and used a coupon to order some promotional stuff for the next time I decided to do a push. Maybe people don’t want another gift card or ebook, but something unique will garner more attention. Maybe not, but I’m going to find out.

Finally, I wrote this thing. I don’t exactly know what to call it, but I’m calling them anthems. I am looking for input as to what they actually are called. They are from a narrator’s POV and use second person perspective.

I had another of my crazy thoughts, and intend to include them in my collection of short stories called The Enhanced League (TEL). They have nothing to do with the stories, but they might be fun to break things up. I like the idea of between three and half a dozen of them. TEL will be about a futuristic baseball league. Some characters will recur in the stories and some are one shot wonders.

Anyway, I don’t know how to solicit your input without sharing one, so here goes nothing. It’s draft material, but will give you the idea. Let me know if it’s too crazy to live, or has some merit.

Anthem #2

The Hardest Day

 

You took the wife and kids to the ballpark more religiously than most folks go to church. For you, it was church. Didn’t matter if it was blazing sun, or frosty nights, you were there.

Your wife was the life of the party. Everyone knew her, and she always seemed to draw the television camera the way she stood and led cheers. You wound up on the kiss camera more times than you were comfortable with.

You named your son after a Golden Glove winning shortstop. When the team travelled, the two of you played catch in the backyard and practiced that shovel toss to second base.

The kids grew up, and your wife passed away. Some of your old buddies from the trucking company bought your seats for a game or two when you didn’t have someone to take you. It wasn’t much, but the money helped pay for your meds.

Your son took you to a few games, until his own kids started playing sports. Now they spend most of their time kicking soccer balls around. Your daughter and her new husband took you once, but it felt like meeting your new step-parent.

Finally, the day arrived. You offered up your seats and sold them for five figures. The guys from the trucking company were pissed, but they couldn’t pay going rate.

You thought you were going to have a stroke. You sold out, Buddy. You sold a piece of your soul that day. You worried that you might have cursed the team somehow.

You wanted to give them to your kids, but they couldn’t have cared less. Your son-in-law would have sold them too and used the money to bet on horses.

So here you are, in assisted living with no family around. You bought the league pass and get every game on your new big-screen television. The old farts come around to watch, and they seem to be enjoying the team as much as you do. You finally admit the air conditioning doesn’t ruin the experience.

You’ve seen more games this year than the last three combined. Your doctor even approved a beer, provided you only have one. You never told him about the hotdogs Mrs. Corrigan brings. A hotdog never killed anyone anyway.

It was the worst day of your life, the day you sold the seats, but none of this would be possible if you hadn’t.

29 Comments

Filed under Short Stories & Vignettes, Writing

29 responses to “A few loose things

  1. Sports! I never caught the fever, personally and don’t believe I’ve missed a thing by refusing to define myself by the teams that I was enouraged to support – and whether they won or lost. I cheer for scientists and researchers – especially the neuro-types.

    I like the tone of your “thing” – it makes several points clearly in an engaging story.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to educate a world!”

    Like

  2. I like it. Really captures a fan through the ages. The emotions were great.

    I actually blame ‘Saw’ for the gore and jump scare increase in horror. Not to mention the obsession with ‘found footage’. The slashers from when I grew up got bad, but not like the torture stuff that turns up now. There were still suspense horrors back then too. Focus changed when gore brought in the big bucks.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I enjoyed the Hardest Day. This could be a metaphor for anything a person would enjoy but can’t do it anymore. I liked the step parent line.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I loved this vignette. The whole aging thing…. you got that right. The Nixon photo made me laugh. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I call these little glimpses of life “vignettes” because I like the formality and importance of the word. Call it what you like, Craig. It was brilliant. So poignant. Totally captures the feelings of age and loss. I don’t think you have to be a sports fan to get it (although I am one). It’s the emotion that counts, and you nailed it.

    Liked by 3 people

  6. You’ll never believe what happened to me yesterday — I got sucked into The Walking Dead while Sassy watched it. Eventually, The Mister got sucked into it too. It’s the scariest thing I’ve ever seen. There’s far too much gore, I spent quite a bit of time looking at my drapes, but I tell you what, they’ve nailed suspense. Perfection.
    I don’t even like baseball and I like your short 🙂 I thought there was a lot more too it than sports, and I really like the way you gave a lot of information in such a small word count. That line about meeting your new step-parent was grand.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. A slice of life reflection that will appeal to everyone, sports fan or not. The underlying emotion comes through loud and strong. Well done!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Tricky Dicky, or Trumpet the Strumpet … poor America. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  9. I love this, and I’ll tell you why. First, I enjoy 2nd person for flash/micro fiction. Secondly, it’s a slice of life story. And third, it reminds me of “Cat’s in the Cradle.” I’m not a sports fan, but I could still relate. Years ago, I used to volunteer at an elderly care facility. We’d play checkers; I’d listen to their stories…it was a great time for all of us. This story brought back those cherished memories. Thank you for that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

