That was unexpected

Old What's Her Face* decided to go to Nevada this morning. She'll be visiting with her brother, and I'll get some time to do things.

My son is here, and I bought us a couple of DVDs to watch. I bought Captain America Civil War, and Warcraft. I'm off Monday too, so we have time to get to them. I'm almost certain to check into the MLB Championship Series sometime too. (Mostly the National League.)

Then, of course, there is Otto time. He demanded a rousing game of pumpkin ball fetch the minute I got home. It's hard not to comply, he's pretty cute.

Things kind of calmed down a bit on the promotion front. The sale for The Playground ran out. It's still available, but at the regular price now. The Paranormal Bar & Grill blog tour will run all by itself. I'll still check in every day, moreso when my book is in the spotlight, but it won't take much work.

I will set up an Amazon Giveaway for Will O' the Wisp in a couple of days. This means, according to Amazon's rules, I have to buy the five books I want to hand out. It's the only promotional tool I haven't used this month.

I have to work on one of my pages over at Story Empire, but I'm not going to dive right into it tonight. In similar fashion, I have one Lisa Burton Radio to work on but it may not post until December when the book drops. Scheduling the next Macabre Macaroni story won't take any time at all.

There isn't much I can do to promote my Experimental Notebooks. They are permanently priced at 99¢. These books contain quite a bit of Halloween reading. Not every story will qualify, but at 99¢ I don't think you can go wrong.

This is the link to my Amazon Page. It's the only link I have where both Experimental Notebooks are browseable.

So outside of pumpkin ball fetch, setting up the giveaway, and watching some movies – what will I do?

I may find time to visit the writing cabin, but I've sworn off my novel until November. If I manage to write something it will be short fiction. I also have a book to finish reading.

May sound boring to some of you, but it sounds great to me.

* Entertaining Stories, protecting my family's identity since 2013.

42 Comments

Filed under Writing

42 responses to “That was unexpected

  1. I am just mesmerized by your handsome dog! He looks downright Presidential, in old days, when that was a compliment~

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Otto is getting big. How did the Playground do with the sale?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Not all that good. I think it sold about six. Panama is still selling after the free days though. Sales don’t seem to do much these days. I need to find a way to reach beyond my circle somehow.

      Like

      • That’s a shame. Seems to be harder and harder to get beyond our circles. I’m totally out of ideas in that arena beyond billboards, skywriting, or drone-delivered fliers.

        Liked by 1 person

      • The long game is for fans, not individual sales. Maybe a free copy of Panama will lead to additional sales of other books. Maybe an entrant for the scavenger hunt will take a chance on a 99¢ Notebook. Still, it is disappointing. I’m spending more than I’m making even after years of this stuff.

        Like

      • I wonder if it’s really just this year. The disappointment rate has been insane for sales and releases. Something in the air has changed from last year. This is why I’m sticking to the known paid ones and trying to find more free promos.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I don’t think it’s going to be temporary. There is so much out there that we could count on being in the good pile vs the other one. Now the good pile is so much larger that we get lost again. I believe there is something to having a large catalog, but the bar is going to get higher too.

        Like

      • Interesting. I would question if there’s even a pile. Good is subjective, so it could just be a single giant pile that people have to sift through. The cheaper ones will always get more notice too.

        Liked by 1 person

      • My very recent results indicate free is what it takes. The next move along this path is authors paying people to read our books. I think I’m done at that point.

        Like

      • Yeah. I’d avoid doing that one, but it isn’t as far-fetched as it sound these days. I am seeing a lot of perma-free turning up, but many are the first in a series. A viable attempt to get people into a series, but I think it’s running a risk where readers expect other books to go there. Really hope something changes.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I think the gateway is a good idea, and did my 99¢ books, and now I’m part of a free anthology. Trouble is there are plenty of those out now too. A person could read forever and not leave the free book world. I get it too, I love anthologies and could be happy reading them for a long time.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Excellent point. I noticed a lot of anthologies were going 99 cents last year and early this year. Then the free ones popped up. No way to go up against that too.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’ll include a short story or micro-fiction for some exposure. When the whole thing is me, I’m putting a price tag on them. 99¢ isn’t going to kill anyone. A requirement of free might kill off the desire to keep playing though.

        Like

      • Yeah. It would kill the entire indie scene too. I’ve heard that publishers don’t like seeing things go free either. There’s this idea that going free means the author has no faith in the product. Even though the truth is that there’s so much noise that you need every selling point you can get.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I don’t know what to try next, other than to keep plugging away. I got a lead on a good small publisher, but I don’t know if Yak Guy is going to be exactly what they want.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Would they want any of the already published ones?

        Liked by 1 person

      • No idea, it’s all pretty preliminary at this time.

        Like

  3. I can’t believe how big Otto is getting! He looks like he posed for that photo and knew exactly what he was doing. I’ve been knocking out (upcoming) blog posts today. Three of them. I should have spent the time working on my WIP, but at least I managed to knock a few things off the to-do list!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. *smiles* Pumpkin ball fetch!

    I need to finish my 13 Stories tale and then have all (okay most of the) weekend to read, and I’m excited, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sounds idyllic. Love Otto, he’s a handsome boy. I understand the temptation to add to the list. I find it difficult not to get excited about new thoughts and new projects. I have started to prioritize … but then a new thought hits and I’m off and running with it. I must learn discipline.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve learned a few tricks along the way, like keeping a living document, and having a couple of outlines started. I can add to those to get the new thoughts out of my brain, but they aren’t forgotten either. I decided that October is a promotion month, but after that I am writing again.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I have outlines started, and that does help maintain a sense of order. I have a sequel that is around 10k short of complete (Currently 90,000 words in) November is set aside to complete and edit the 1st draft. I am going to try setting myself a dedicated schedule of ‘must do’ daily. Otherwise my ADHD runs rampant. A ‘living document’ I love that terminology.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I learned that in the working world. These documents get updated regularly. My writing documents tend to get longer and longer.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Craig, do you have a “Halt” point, when you have to say ‘enough is enough’? I’m discovering that I must do that with my books. I had no intention of my thriller/psychological/espionage novel being part of a series when I began it, the characters threw that idea out the window. Now book 2 is set to do the same thing. How do you as a writer choose when the end … is really the end?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Great question, and challenging to answer. I prefer reading stand-alone novels. My interests are wide and vary, so I like to mix things up. I have a fleeting hope there are others out there like me. My writing reflects that too. I’ve written science fiction, fantasy, paranormal, etc. I like to conclude the main event, leave some room for life continuing after the book, and call it a day. That tiny sliver of life going on keeps a window open that if the book should skyrocket, I could write a sequel of some kind. If you read one of my novels, you’ll spot that window being open. I don’t want to waste a year on book two only to learn that book one sold 300 copies.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I mix things up as well, with an anthology of paranormal shorts, 2 non-fiction books and the thriller. I understand the “I don’t want to waste a year on book two only to learn that book one sold 300 copies.” Yet, because I gave so much of myself to book one, I couldn’t not write the sequel. Reviews on book 1 are great, (not many but very encouraging) . Sigh! I have plot outlines for several ‘stand alone’ novels in genres I haven’t written before. lol … we are a masochistic lot.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I always have plans for what might happen next, but bite my lip to hold them back. I have revisited a couple of characters in my short fiction.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Sounds great to me! And can’t believe how big Otto has got! Wow, he’s not a puppy any more.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Otto has gotten so big. Still adorable. Love that face!!! What’s pumpkin ball fetch? Using a mini-pumpkin as a ball?

    Enjoy your weekend and best of luck with your Amazon giveaway, Craig.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sometimes it’s good for the soul to sit back, smell the coffee and let things tend to themselves. Enjoy your down-time drifting, Craig – it really help to recharge your energy batteries. You’re be jet-propelled by November, just in time for the holidays!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. ” A rousing game with Otto…” I had to giggle imagining him bolting around the room 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

