Fictional Characters

Hi gang,

Lisa Burton here. I'm Craig's personal assistant, and the spokesmodel for his writing career. If you're into labels, I'm also a robot.

Craig went camping this weekend, and doesn't know whether he can find an Internet connection or not. I expect him to post some photos if he gets a signal. He told me to post something, just in case. I think he's afraid of you forgetting about him.

I'm not the kind to wait around to see if Craig has a signal. I'm posting anyway. I can always flutter my eyes and say Oops later.

That means, I can post anything I want, and I want to appeal to the fictional characters out there. You know how it is. You lose friends, your get your heart broken, and when everything fails you actually save the Galaxy. Maybe you finally get the girl. Maybe some of you get some sort of redemption.

And after all the blood, sweat, and tears, or in my case damaged parts, do you get to spend any time with the heroine? Noooo. You're kicked to the curb in favor of new characters in a new story. Or sometimes told you have to do it all over again in a sequel.

It's time to speak up. Let those authors know that you have a few good miles left in you. You're the reason people read these books in the first place. Tell your authors to let you market the books too.

How do you go about this? Contact me and let's set up an interview. I have this show called Lisa Burton Radio. I interview characters and let you say whatever you want. Tell us about your journey, your hopes, your fears. What are your dreams for the future?

Now I know authors aren't going to go for this unless there's something in it for them. That's why I post cover art, photos, bios, blurbs, and even social media contacts at the end of every show. Purchase links are a must with authors.

If your author needs a little nudge, there's a page at the top of this blog that will give a bit more information. That link has an email address in it. If your author still wants to research, there is a link to all the shows in the sidebar. It filters the posts down to all Lisa Burton Radio broadcasts so far. I'll make it easy, this is the link to previous shows. Make your author check a few of them out.

To help authors out, Craig makes me cross post to two different Facebook accounts, Flipboard, Stumbleupon, and Twitter. I tweet them out multiple times on the day they post, then randomly tweet them out for weeks afterward. I even have my own hashtag, #LisaBurtonRadio. Maybe this can be one stop on a blog tour to promote your story.

Call me

Make your author let you out. Maybe revisiting your journey will earn you a short story, or another novel. It worked for me.

I'm a big believer in treating everyone equally. That hasn't always happened to me, and I try to be nice to everyone. It doesn't matter if you're an alien, a forest elf, dead, an antagonist, or a talking animal. Everyone is welcome here. I've interviewed dark overlords, goblins, serial killers, and even shudder a lawyer. I'm not afraid.

Have your author talk to my author. Let's do this.

24 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Writing

24 responses to “Fictional Characters

  1. What a clever post for a fabulously clever idea. Really sounds like fun to get a preview of a novel through an interview with one of the characters — and the character to character call for submissions made me grin. But even lawyers? THAT is beyond the pale.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to educate a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey, Lisa – it’s Janowyn, the River Kingdom elven bard! Our author’s been a bit distracted recently, but come the new moon she’ll have a bit more wriggle room, so maybe I’ll bend Telly’s arm a bit and try and point him in your direction? Also, I haven’t forgotten that you’re a bit of a musician yourself and I’m hoping you’ll be one of our first guests at the Karaoke club we’ve nearly finished over at the blog. Catch you again for more chat in a week or two! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yeah! Jesse Carlisle here from Eclipse Lake by Mae Clair. I’ve been nagging her to let me guest on your show but she went and got distracted with this Mothman thing. I’m mean we’re talking some kind of winged flying freak. I’ve gotta rate higher than that, right? I’ll give her another nudge before she decides that winged thing should visit instead.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That last paragraph about inclusion of all walks of life is precious, lol! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Lisa. This was a very clever call for characters. I think your boss should be happy letting you take over. Hope you pick up a lot of interviews. I know I always enjoy myself. – John J Cannon

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Reblogged this on Legends of Windemere and commented:
    A unique call for authors. Need a promo?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hi, Lisa. My name is Geoffrey. (Weaver knows I “borrow” his internet access sometimes, and besides, what’s he gonna do about it?) I’m currently a secondary (but very important!) character in a couple of science fiction novels, although I’ve been promised (threatened with?) a lead role in something, eventually. I’ll have Weaver talk to my author (Weaver is actually my author’s identical twin) and try to see about arranging an interview. I’ll also mention this to some of my colleagues — I know lots of interesting fictional people.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Great post, Lisa!! Karrie would someday like to meet you–if she can make it back to Earth.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I read this when you posted it, and then must’ve got distracted. Sorry! Clever post.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: Writing Links in the 3s and 5…8/22/16 – Where Worlds Collide

Leave a Reply

