More touristy stuff

My brother-in-law had foot surgery right before our vacation. He was hurting, and it looked like we might stick around the campground. It was suggested that he might be able to rest his foot just as well if we went crabbing.

While everyone got ready, my daughter and I made a coffee and breakfast run. We pulled over at a beach that is a Poke-stop so she could collect a half dozen Pokemon before we went back to camp.

My brother-in-law and I drove through Depot Bay, and the resident pod of California Gray Whales were putting on a show. The girls all went to the outlet mall, so we called them. My daughter really wanted to spot a whale, so they drove the twenty miles to find us. They got to see them too.

We shot a ton of photos and videos, but they were all on my iPhone. That means dubious quality. I loaded one extremely short video on my Facebook page. These guys were right offshore, and in my younger days, I might have been able to throw a rock that far. We saw a lot of spouts, a few tails, and a lot of backs. That's kind of what you get with whales.

Just to prove they were there, here is one spout photo:

It really is the wrong time of year for crabbing. We knew that, but there are always a few around. We must have caught over a hundred, but they either fell under the size limit, or were females. You have to throw them back. Those limits are for Dungeness crab though, and not red rock crabs. We wound up with seven red rocks.

There isn't much meat on a red rock crab, but enough of them can make a meal. We have four adults who will eat crab. (It's my daughter, before anyone asks.) By adding a few steaks, and some salads and corn, we had a nice surf and turf under our awning last night.

Here's Otto proving we actually caught Dungeness crabs too. They were just tiny ones.

This is the same green platter as the photo from last year, but the red rock crabs are from last night's dinner.

Having a great time. Hope all of you are having a great week too.

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

21 responses to “More touristy stuff

  1. Lucky you I would love to see Whales!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Those crabs look great! I’ve never had a red rock crab…or seen a whale 🙂
    We spot dolphins off the beach on the each coast, but never whales…at least not in my area. One of these days I’ll get further north on the eastern seaboard and do a whale-watching tour. Bucket list stuff.

    It looks like Otto is getting around in style.:)

    Liked by 3 people

    • There were a bunch of whales. The tour boat sells a dozen seat for $50 then goes out about a hundred yards. Maybe I should retire and buy a tour boat. My wife brought her garden wagon for when Otto gets pooped out.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad you’re having a good time!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oooo! Yummy crabs – and great to do some whale spotting too 🙂 Otto looks a bit dubious – just as well to teach him early that crabs (even tiny ones) aren’t to be messed with! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yummy! I wouldn’t put my week up with yours, but it’s not a BAD week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Those crabs look tasty!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. We actually have humpback sightings around our coasts this summer, but I haven’t seen them. Whale watching is certainly fun in the moment. I’ve noticed the pictures never do it justice, so I file it under an activity that one has to be there for. So, what does Otto think of crabs?

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Love these reports from the Front. Sounds like fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. WOW! What a fun vacation! I hope your BIL feels better now. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Believe it or not, I’ve never had King Crab (or red crab). Around here (New England) it’s lobster or nothing. But I do like crab cakes. Looks like you’re having a blast on your vacation. I’m so glad. More Otto pics please!

    Liked by 1 person

    • There is a west coast kind of lobster, but they’re pretty rare. I love king crab, but it’s further north. These red rock crabs will never be in a store or restaurant. They remind me of stone crab because of the claws.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

