Tomorrow is the big day

We leave for vacation tomorrow. We’re taking a bunch of family members with us, so that will be an adventure.

Most of the day was spent hooking up campers, and making sure we have enough puppy food. We;re still getting clothes rounded up.

I did some dog watching today while the ladies went to the store. My in- laws are taking their dog along too. She’s a hundred year old Lhasa-Apso. This is her:

This is all she does. She gets carried to eat, drink, poop, etc.

She and Otto are not a good mix. He just wants to play, all the time. She isn’t much for playing.

I foresee one of those Chevy Chase Vacation moments in our future involving the dogs.

I loaded my crab ring, even though it isn’t the best time of year. We might not get any dungeness, but the red rock crabs are always around.

This is a picture from last year’s crab cookout:

Two gigantic Dungeness crabs and a pile of red rock crabs. My wife and I ate ourselves into a stupor. I don’t expect to do as well this year, but we’re trying it anyway.

I checked the tides, and the best tide of the month was yesterday. They won’t be good for clam digging the rest of this month. We haven’t caught a good clamming tide in years, due to our poor planning.

If nothing else, we may have to buy our fresh seafood, but we’ll be in a place where we can. There are also a ton of new breweries in this area, and that could be fun too.

We don’t have a plan. We don’t have a schedule. We’re just taking each day as it comes, and trying to have a good time.

I’m taking my iPad and phone with me. I’ll try to read some blogs, and might post a photo. I may even get an evening to update this blog, but I’m not making any promises.

Have fun everyone. I know I will.

29 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

29 responses to “Tomorrow is the big day

  1. Have fun Craig. Looking forward to hearing all about it. Those crabs look amazing! You should join instagram then we could all keep up to date with your foraging and adventures 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. enjoy your family holiday… sounds like you all have fun…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Have fun and good luck with the crabbing. (That’s a word, right?)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Have a great vacation!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Have a great time, Craig.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m just coming off a week of vacation and expect to have a hard time getting back into the grove. Enjoy your time away. Dungeness crabs are my favorite but they’re hard to find/buy around here. Hubby and I spent 20+ years crabbing (blue crab), flounder fishing and clamming before selling our pontoon. I miss it and the eastern seaboard.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. May you and the gang have a blast. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Nice! I hope you enjoy it, I hope the dogs behave, and I hope it’s a safe trip! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Ali Isaac

    No plan, no schedule… sounds wonderful! The perfect holiday, actually! Those crabs look impressive. I have never eaten crab. I wouldn’t know what to do if you put one of those babies in front of me! Haha! How do you eat it?

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: Writing Links in the 3s and 5…7/25/16 – Where Worlds Collide

Leave a comment