Calling it a productive day

My day started with coffee and social media, which is my habit. There's been a ton of Twitter support during my Member of the Month campaign at Rave Reviews Book Club. I try to show appreciation by likeing and retweeting everything I can find, but I'm sure I've missed some things.

They've pushed The Playground and Wild Concept pretty hard, so I found some images I created for Panama, The Cock of the South, and Experimental Notebook to tweet out. Some of them jumped on and retweeted those too. Twitter never really helps that much, but it doesn't hurt either. I've sold a few books during Twitter campaigns and might as well strike while I have the support going for me.

I surfed through all the other systems, including WordPress. That's about when I usually start writing. This was exactly when She Who Cannot Stop Talking decided to come downstairs.

I was cool under pressure today. I knew she had to take a friend to the airport, and she has to work tonight. I may not get my preferred writing hours, but I would get time. We had a nice chat, and everything went great.

When my turn finally arrived, I decided to work on a couple of guest posts. These are always interesting, and I get to interact with some pretty cool authors and their characters. Once those were sent into cyberspace, I opened The Yak Guy Project.

The story came out in two chunks today. I had some things to do mid-day, but opened the file again this afternoon. I really don't have to give up, but I feel like it's a good stopping point for the day. All told, I managed about 15 new pages.

Yesterday I worked on two guest spots, and managed seven pages. I also had to work through my critiques, so it feels close to the same. I also worked on a short story yesterday. +/- about the same progress. It feels good.

My baseball team lost yesterday, and I never could get it on television. I just checked tonight, and am prohibited from watching tonight too.

I think I'll spend my evening reading.

I have to pick my wife up at the airport tomorrow night. That means more opportunity to write tomorrow. I haven't decided whether I will, or if I'll tackle some neglected yard work. She and her sister are in Las Vegas at the Hard Rock. They're going to see the Scorpions tonight. The rock band, not the arachnids that are also native to Las Vegas.

I'm not the least bit jealous. A quiet evening with a book is a rare event in my life. I think I'll even make tea. I have some nice Golden Monkey loose leaf in the cupboard. I'm going to call it date night for one.

Have a nice evening everyone.

20 Comments

Filed under Writing

20 responses to “Calling it a productive day

  1. Have a nice evening as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Scorpions are kind of cool, the arachnid, they are the one creature that is found on every continent including Antarctica. But I certainly want to visit them anywhere! So yeah, glad they got to go see the band, that sounds kind of fun. Good luck with the writing. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I laughed at the Scorpion clarification. πŸ™‚
    I think you better do lawn work — but I only think that because of my rain situation, I’m sure.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “Date night for one”β€”I love it! Hope you have fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Perfect night, I’d say. My husband’s away for the weekend so I took the opportunity to finish my hat and eat profiterols πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Date night for one sounds like heaven! Pure indulgence with somebody who understands you totally! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Tea and a great book sounds like a wonderful evening. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m playing catch-up do to hosting a family get together over the weekend (Friday was party prep day and Saturday was the shindig). The book and tea sound wonderful. A nice reward after getting your posts done πŸ™‚
    I actually missed my reading time last night. I’m looking forward to it tonight!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Writing Links in the 3s and 5…5/16/16 – Where Worlds Collide

Leave a Reply

