All Quiet on the Home Front

My company just left. We had a pretty good time, and wound up getting my dad an iPad mini for his birthday. His old Nook has it's limitations, and it appears I got him addicted to YouTube videos already.

We did a bunch of shopping that my mother had on her list, and since we went to the mall, I made a stop at Old Chicago for beer. Shopping is a lot more tolerable with a bar under the same roof. All stores should have one. My wife likes it too, because I'm more agreeable to letting her spend money. All merchants should pay attention to that one.

As far as productivity goes, it was a total disaster. Zero new words of fiction, and I didn't even manage to update this blog on Saturday. I don't think I've ever missed a Saturday in all the years I've been at this.

It's always fun having my folks come, and some things have to get rescheduled. I'll get back into the swing of things, but I've put myself into a corner for the time being. I have some reading commitments, and I need to move those to the top of my list. Since reading and writing require the same kind of solitude, I may not be writing until the reading is finished.

My plan for now is to turn reading into a kind of death march until I get it all finished. Everything else can wait. I've made commitments, and intend to make my deadlines.

The main point is that I had a good time. I feel bad for not working 100% of the time, but life is more than words on paper.

The kids are out and about, my wife went for a coffee, and the house is quiet. I'd better get started on that reading.

20 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Uncategorized

20 responses to “All Quiet on the Home Front

  1. Good luck with the reading. Guess there are always those weekends that just don’t work out. I totally agree with that bar idea. Don’t see places like that around here. Closest was a food court in NYC that had one and that closed up a long time ago.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad you had a good time, and you’re right — life is more than words on paper.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So alcohol and retail therapy, huh? How about that to stimulate the economy?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Reading on demand is a burden. I’m under the same gun.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Weekends are always filled with family and extra dedication to writing time for me. I alter them between Saturdays and Sundays so for the most part I tend to disappear offline.

    For reading, it’s how I end every night with an hour or two before I go to bed. Getting ready to start a new book tonight and always excited about that.

    As for writing, word count and such, sometimes we just have to give ourselves a break and enjoy fun. Glad you had a great weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sometimes life, real life, gets in the way. Although it doesn’t always feel like it, I think that’s a good thing… helps you keep things in balance.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Everyone needs time away. At least, that’s what they tell me. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Writing Links in the 3s and 5…3/21/16 – Where Worlds Collide

Leave a Reply

