Life in Slackerville

I had the day off, and figured to make the words do my bidding. It didn't quite work out that way.

My first mistake was to run down the WordPress wormhole. It takes time to catch up on blogs, and I knew it was a mistake when I started. I need quiet to write anything, and my daughter could wake up at any time.

After reading blogs, I re-read every word of the Yak Guy project. It works for me, but still needs some fine tuning before public consumption. I was finally ready to add words to it.

Then my daughter got up. This girl can talk, and that hasn't changed since she first learned how. At least she goes outside to smoke occasionally, so I can lubricate my ears from time to time. Lemons to lemonade moment here.

Being the opportunist I am, I weaseled a haircut out of her. Hey, she had her scissors with her. I paid her for her work anyway.

I insisted upon washing my hair when we finished, you know, to get the stubble out. This caused a break in the narrative, and when I was finished she was in her room.

I took the time to make corrections to The Playground based upon critique group. If nothing else, I can check that off the list.

When my wife came home, my daughter decided to accompany her on shopping day. I don't really understand the appeal of a grocery store, but I like to accomplish something and used my time wisely.

I read Barb Taub's new book, Do Not Wash Hands in Plates. This is a hilarious travelogue about Barb's trip to India with a couple of old friends.

Most of the cool kids follow Barb's blog, and understand her sense of humor. For the rest of you, this isn't the kind of book I would normally read. I picked it up in faith that it would be as good as her blog. I was not disappointed.

I'm trying to coerce Barb into making an appearance here, so watch this space.

I dabbled with an artwork program that I have. My skills are non-existent, but it's fun. The learning curve on these apps is a bit different than a box of crayons, and some old newspaper, but I'm figuring things out.

I didn't get any writing done. I feel like a slacker in that regard. On the other hand, I accomplished a few other things.

We just watched last weeks episode of Lip Sync Battle. This one featured Channing Tatum and his wife, in the best one yet. My wife and I laughed till our sides hurt. Now the house is quiet.

If I remain inconspicuous to my wife, I may be able to add a few words to that short story I've been pecking away at. See you later.

26 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

26 responses to “Life in Slackerville

  1. The only reason I like the grocery store is that it has food there. Always a gamble when I ask other people to get food for me. Watched that Lip Sync Battle too. Definitely one of the best ones yet. I’m torn between that and the Christmas Special.

    Like

  2. I sent NA to the editor for the final proof. Now my security system is acting up on my computer…so there’s that to deal with. I just cleaned my Kombucha brewer. You have to do that with vinegar and distilled water about every six months, or it will turn sour too fast and not be mellow, so it was time. I thinned my SCOBY, but have no clue how thick a piece I need to add back to the new brew and can’t get into the web site that would tell me until my security system is up as it has my passwords on it. This wonderful world of high tech. You’ll get back to Yak Guy when he needs to talk.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is why people go to writer’s retreats every now and again. Never done one myself, but I can see the appeal!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love the ‘WordPress wormhole’ reference – it made my morning coffee 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Still sounds productive. Hope you get writing time this weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I almost never write on the weekends because I know that they kids will be around and I can’t afford to give anything else that much concentration. I’ll only bang something out if I become inspired.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I had a productive day editing yesterday and am trying to squeeze some writing time in today. I did the shopping thing today and the grocery store. Finished a good book (Type and Cross) and started another. Tonight I need to hit the Spanish lesson pretty hard. Tomorrow is a party, and then Monday is back to the grind. I vote for a three day weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Doesn’t sound like you were slacking to me!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Quiet isn’t visiting as much as it usually does :/
    I tell you, I hate shopping, and cannot wait until I have another kid who drives! And they’re ironic about when they go with me; If they have to go, because Daddy’s not home, or because of another errand, or because it’s dark, or how long I’ll be gone — Moo begs me to leave her home and Sassy complains. If I’m going and I’m looking forward to a quiet car ride and no one asking me for chocolate cereal, then they both want to go with me, especially Moo, who likes to get me all to herself. It is the damnedest thing.
    I hope you got a lot done, but really, when you catch up on blogs and get your haircut in the same day, you’re way ahead of me! lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

