Employee relations

I sat my iPad in my lap and rubbed the bridge of my nose. I decided to do my editing in the paranormal office. The sound of Uptown Funk drifted down from Lisa's room. “What's going on up there, and do we have any more coffee?”
A sound, like taffeta along the walls, worked its way downstairs and turned the corner. Lisa stood in the doorway and placed her hands on her hips.

“What the? That isn't appropriate attire for the office. What–“

“Stop right there. You approved my day off months ago. I'm at an online party with the girls, so you can just make your own coffee.”

“Girls? How many girls?”

“There's me, Faith–“

“Your therapist?”

“My friend. Then there's Helena, Patty, Laura, Vicky, Lindsay Pennington, oh and Lorelei. Eight of us.”

“You brought Lindsay Pennington here? Do we even have arson insurance?”

“It's an online party. I'm the only one here.”

I waved my hand from her head to toe. “What's this all about?”

“I found a cute little shop that sells retro lingerie. It works with my personal style. Lindsay used crepe paper to make wings that look like fire. Then she put on a pair of Spanks she bedazzled. We all laughed hysterically.”

“But why?”

“We're getting ready for the big fashion show. Lorelei has this cute Greek toga thing that's slit up the leg, and cut down to here. She put her wings on her shoes to stick with her theme.”

“Et tu, Lorelei?”

“What?”

“Nothing.”

“I have to hand out virtual chocolate, and Faith is handing out virtual champagne.”

“But Patty, Laura, and Vicky are underage.”

“It's virtual champagne.”

“Those girls didn't have internet in the 1970s.”

“I may have hooked them up. I need to get back, it's almost my turn on the catwalk again.”

“You built a catwalk up there?”

“No. It's just part of our party.” She looked off into space and spoke. “Hi, Lorelei. Yeah, he's playing twenty questions. I'll be back in a second.”

“Phone call?”

“Yeah, they want me back.”

“So you decided to throw a big party before the fashion show?”

“Oh sure, let someone schedule a football game and guys break out grills, crack open beers, and fart–“

“We don't fart.”

“Would you like me to do a chemical analysis of the air in this room?”

“No.”

“The fashion show is something for the girls, and we decided to have our own party.”

“Maybe I'd better check it out. What's the address?”

She pointed a gloved finger at me. “Oh no you don't. Girls only. That way nobody judges us, and we can have our own fun.”

“What's everyone else wearing?”

“The teenagers got together and all wore butterfly wings. Patty is so cute now that she can wear fun shoes. Faith has a California Angels motif going on. Then Helena has a giant black hood and cape with black wings to suit her angel of death job.”

“And did Helena's henchman get to attend?”

“No, girls only. We're having fun, and we only get to have fun if someone isn't picking about cellulite, or commenting about who looks better than someone else. Then we're all going to watch our show together. Now, unless you want to start paying me overtime, I have to go.”

She turned back towards the stairs as Legs by ZZ Top trickled down from her room.

I glanced over at the enchanted beer horns. “Boys, what say we start beer time early today.” They came running and curled against my ankles like two cats.

***

As an explanation to any new readers, Lisa is the main character in Wild Concept. She is a robot and works as my personal assistant these days. Faith is also in Wild Concept. Lindsay Pennington is a supporting character in Arson. Patty, Laura, and Vicky are all in Will O' the Wisp. Lorelei is my Muse, and makes regular blog appearances. Helena, the Angel of Death, is coming soon in The Playground.

28 Comments

Filed under Muse

28 responses to “Employee relations

  1. Wow! They sure are having a wild time! Isnt it a bit… um… distracting to the writing process???

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like they had a great time! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Got to love Lisa. She sure knows how to party. LOL Patty’s wearing pretty shoes? Aww…

    Liked by 2 people

  4. So much fun! Love Lisa–she’s got spunk!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m guessing not much was accomplished that day. Wise not to push either.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Girls do know how to party! Sounds like a lot of fun for the ladies. I guess you’ll just have to be satisfied with the beer horns, LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. How fun to put our characters in different settings. Am I welcome at the party?

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Love it! Lisa’s been in Brandi’s closet…lol…you’ll see why if you read my story. They’re quite a pair.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Great party. Thanks for sharing it.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I read this earlier but did not have time to reply. I found this to be very entertaining and you really kept my attention. What a distraction you paint with words … this character dressed really not too appropriately for the office, I would say. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Fashion shows and beer horns … you have quite the imagination. Awesome!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Good idea! Nothing says beer time like ZZ Top! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Nicely done!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Wow, what a fun party you’re having in your head! Keep it up, write on! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

