Hello! Is this thing on?

It's kind of quiet out here in Blogland tonight. I assume many Americans are traveling ahead of the holiday weekend. That, or staking out their spot in line at Walmart for Black Friday.

We are going to St. George, Utah for Thanksgiving this year. In all the years we've been together, we've never gone to Thanksgiving with my wife's family. This is the year. Snow is predicted for our drive. If it's too bad we're going to skip it.

Whatever you guys have going on this weekend, I hope you're having fun. Old What's Her Face went to some Mocking Jay movie with her friend from work.

Tonight it's just me, a cup of tea, a good book, and the old pit bull. Awesome!

31 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

31 responses to “Hello! Is this thing on?

  1. Sounds peaceful ๐Ÿ™‚ Enjoy your evening!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That Mocking Jay movie is one of the reasons publishers are only looking for YA these days! I’m house and dog sitting while the sister and her husband spend a week in Cancun. I finished the first draft of my NaNoWriMo paranormal romance with 53006 words today!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Been under the weather today, so that’s my excuse for being quiet. Keep falling asleep. Sounds like a fun Thanksgiving trip. We’re not doing the family thing until the Saturday after. Not sure why.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Safe travels! It HAS been quiet around the blogosphere…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I keep clicking my email expecting to see some posts. Nobody’s posting. I think you’re right, everybody is either entertaining family or getting ready for next week.

    I’m cooking a turkey and mashed potatoes. The daughter is bringing the other veggies and trimmings and her family, and Greg’s son will be here. I was hoping my oldest son would make it down from Michigan, but he’s working a new job…the totem pole thing.

    I think I’ve posted once since the beginning of September. I was posting every day to every other day for two years. I’m not really burned out on it, but was swamped with family issues that really got me down for a few months. And then there’s trying to get my book editing completed, while writing another one. I try to read other’s posts and comment when I can. I try to remain supportive to other writers, but some days it’s all I can do to drag myself to the computer.

    Have a safe trip, and I’ll pray the snow doesn’t get too severe. Everybody should have the glorious opportunity to enjoy the holiday with the spouse’s family at least once in their lifetime. ๐Ÿ™‚ Write and let us know how it turns out. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

    • Sounds like you’re about to have a great holiday. That’s what happens when they all grow up. You don’t always get them all at once any more. I’ve noticed your absence. I assumed you were writing. You know, I may post about my experience with the inlaws. I usually include slice of life tales here anyway.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Yes it is on loud and clear. Happy thanksgiving. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hope you make the trip safely without a flake of the white stuff! Have a good time. Happy Thanksgiving!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’ve been held up in my writer’s cave all week, trying to make my deadline before the holiday break. And I did! Last night, I sent in Wings of Mayhem, and I’m absolutely thrilled. Now I can relax and have a nice Thanksgiving with my beautiful grandbabies. Feels like a weight has been lifted off my shoulders, and I swear I saw Doubt crowing outside my window on more than one occasion.

    Like

  9. Enjoy your weekend! It has been a bit quiet around here – but it’s nice to know people are out there celebrating ๐Ÿ™‚ I am going back into the writing cave with Ambeth book three (and I might sneak in a blog post if one comes to me).

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are the second one to mention writing projects. It just occurred to me that most of my group are writers. There are probably a bunch of Nano participants hunkered over keyboards, but not posting blogs right about now.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, I think we’ll see a few emerge in December, all staring eyes and cramped fingers. I did it last year and I did get a book out of it, though it’s not quite finished yet. So NaNo + Thanksgiving = quiet times on WordPress, I think (hope) ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  10. I started a new job this week, and I’m still in night/weekend graduate courses, so I haven’t picked out a good time for my blogging yet….

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I’m going to make a Thanksgiving dinner this year – it turns out that it’s becoming more and more popular for Brits to do one over here, and plus my kids are half American anyway, so I can’t believe I haven’t been doing one every year! Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours, hope the snow doesn’t prevent you from going on the trip!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Pitt Bulls are great dogs. I have one ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a great Thanksgiving!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

