It’s…the mall

I get it. I grew up in the same small town my parents still live in. When you get to a real town, you need to go shopping.

We, on the other hand, can go to the mall anytime we choose. (And frequently do.) The difference being that my mother has to look in each store to see what's new. We tend to hit and run, only going to the one store we need.

I followed the girls into Dillard's and kept walking. Old Chicago pizza was busy, and the only chair available was in a group setting on tall hard stools. These stools don't have any back either. I'm a short guy, and they kill my back.

Still, I'm a trooper, I downed three really good craft beers. I'm entitled to one more every time I stop off on the World Beer tour. My back told me it was time to check on the girls.

I met my daughter, dragging my grandson my way. (Not her child, for clarity's sake.) Apparently, my daughter-in-law decided to show up to do a bit of school shopping. My daughter said, “Grandson has been saying he's hungry for an hour.” They wanted to go to Old Chicago so he could get something to eat.

I'm a sport, and offered to buy them lunch. Everyone else showed up before our order arrived. I only had another beer, but was pretty happy that shopping appeared to be over. Silly old man.

I got to see everyone's new haircuts, and that was fun. The little ones decided to cut each other's hair. My daughter had to clean up the mess, and she did a good job. The oldest, and third one, got highlights out of the deal, and my daughter did a good job on those too.

After everyone ate, we had another hour of mall cruising ahead of us. Ultimately, we decided to grab takeout food before calling it a day.

On the writing front, I never accomplished one damned thing. Tomorrow, we have to haul the camper over and start getting it ready.

I may get a few things done on Monday or Tuesday. We had a nice visit, and sometimes that's more important.

I hope everyone out there is having a good weekend.

25 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

25 responses to “It’s…the mall

  1. Giving each other haircuts…too funny. I remember getting into some serious trouble for that.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Whenever I’m with the kids I never get any writing done…but it’s worth it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sounds like a good day!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sounds like you had a good time despite the shopping ๐Ÿ™‚ I love how you put it–hit and run. That’s how I shop, mostly because I hate shopping, but a little because I don’t want to spend the time doing it, I’ve got other things I’d rather do than spend it in a crowd of other people shopping. At least you got to enjoy some craft beer!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m not much of a shopper, but my wife is. I prefer to conduct my operation like a SEAL team. Get in and get out. The beers were pretty good, and I experimented a bit outside my normal style. I even had a nice summer shandy.

      Like

  5. The haircut part reminded me of when I tried to cut my son’s hair. It came out pretty bad because he kept moving and I refused to stop until it looked even. He thought it was hilarious though. Fingers crossed that you get some work done.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. A nice visit is the ticket. Good for you. (I wonder why writers have to explain times when they don’t write. We all do it and it is SICK )

    Like

  7. Oops. I’m a day behind. Hopping over…

    Like

  8. Sounds like a great time. You are right that a nice visit is sometimes the most important thing.
    The haircut story made me laugh.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Shopping! Mall crawling! Lunch and hair highlights! That’s my kind of day ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I’d have a blast! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Yikes… The mall isn’t my favorite thing at all! At least they had good beer. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

