S’pose I ought to post something

I go on vacation for nearly three weeks, starting Friday. This gave me a little bit of time to get the camper ready, and maybe move a couple of projects forward before we head out. I also get a bit of time after we get back home.

I'm getting company next weekend. It's never failed so far. My vacation time is like a company magnet. It doesn't matter, we always have a good time together. This is one of the reasons I stay non-committal about deadlines and such. Writing is my fun time, and I don't have to live by rigid performance deadlines. If it has to wait a week it can. I don't have a New York publisher breathing down my neck.

Here is my loose plan of what I want to accomplish. I'm going to participate in the Rave Reviews Book Club Back to School Book and Blog Party. (Who names this stuff?) this will take up one day of blog space in mid September. It looks like a good turnout of people exchanging support for our various projects.

I want to publish The Experimental Notebook of C. S. Boyack in early September. I still haven't decided how I'm going to promote this one, but I should set up some relatively free stuff. I'll ponder on the idea and come up with a few things.

I decided to write posts for Macabre Macaroni again this year. This involved micro fiction I posted weekly during October last year. I debated its merit on this blog, and the feedback helped me make up my mind. If I'm doing it again, I might as well make it work for me. I'm going to figure out a way to make it part of my promotion for the Experimental Notebook. I already have a couple of the stories written.

I'm going to make a pretty big push for Will O' the Wisp in October. I booked a blog tour, and have all the posts written already. I decided to submit this one to a few more book reviewers too. I need to get on the stick if I'm going to time this before Halloween. Wisp is a natural for a Halloween push and I'm going to go for it. Reviewers need time to read it, so I'd better get moving.

I'll probably do most of the standard things, like cover reveal posts for the new book. I may do some guest spots here and there. Right now, I'm concentrating on the issues that must be planned ahead.

I'm still thinking about placing some more Amazon advertising. This is more about awareness than sales. You gamble with $100, but they normally don't spend it all. I think 19,000 people saw my ad last time, and it cost me about $18. I don't see that as a bad thing.

Every day involves baby steps toward these goals. If I keep doing a bit here and there it all gets done. It leaves me time for a trip to the coast, and a visit with company. If I wait until the last minute I get too stressed out.

I need to plan for other events too. I already have a post with Lisa about the upcoming book. I need to write another one about choosing which outline will become my next project. Then I need to spend some quality time with my current manuscript and edit it into something coherent. This will involve some time with Doubt the Raven.

I'm kind of surprising myself here. It's a lot to do, but I can manage it. After October I will prioritize editing my novel, and finishing the winning outline.

Here is a question for those of you who've tested a specific Amazon process. Is there any value in setting up my book of short stories as a pre-order? This involves publishing it using a specific date. Consumers can order it, but Amazon won't deliver it until the specific date. Presumably, you get credit for all the sales the day it gets delivered. It's a way to start off with a higher ranking, and hopefully stay there. This book will price at 99¢, so people might take a chance. Let me ask it a different way. Is there any reason I should not set my book of short stories up with a pre-order time period?

28 Comments

Filed under Writing

28 responses to “S’pose I ought to post something

  1. Never used any of Amazon ads or done a preorder with them, but good luck and keep us posted.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sound like a busy autumn for you. And there seems to be many treats in store for us, your readers!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I read that Amazon changed its algorithms, and one-day sales spikes are now less important than sales spread over time. If that’s true, front-loading your sales could hurt your ranking.

    Of course, if you’re doing pre-launch publicity, the pre-order option might get you some impulse purchases from people who’d otherwise forget to buy.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Very cool that you had success with the Amazon ads. My first attempt got nothing and the second was ended rather quickly for some reason. Not really sure what to do about it. Anyway, good luck with that and enjoy your vacation. It really does seem like taking time away creates a sign for people that you’re free.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Busy times ahead, so enjoy your vacation!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. My last book went on pre-order, but it was done through my publisher. I can’t really say it made that much of a difference but it’s hard to tell. The book debuted higher than any of my previous releases but not what I consider significantly higher. I also had a lot of publicity going on at the time so it’s hard to tell what contributed to that ranking. I haven’t tried Amazon ads yet but might give it a go one of these days.

    Enjoy your vacation. Three weeks! I’m jealous!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Don’t know about pre order, but I hope you get some rest on vacation.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I think in between all your other projects, you need to write a book on “How to Amazon Successfully” (See how I made Amazon a verb?) You never cease to amaze me with all you know. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

