Coming up for air

My brother and I had a great quiet weekend. He took home multiple large buckets of crabapples. Some of you asked for pictures of what’s he’s going to do, and he promised to provide some. More on this later.

We drank beer, talked about things men, brothers in particular, would discuss. I’m the only man in this house, and his situation is similar. We drank some good craft beer too. It was a great time.

Work today was followed by critique group. It was fairly typical, three people enjoying my story, and one severe redline. The trick to critique group is to listen to the one who did the heavy markup. This is usually where improvement is made. I really enjoy the supportive remarks, but it’s usually the sour one that teaches me something. I’m going to set it aside for a few days before diving in. This doesn’t mean I want everyone to be sour, because that isn’t helpful either. It’s a mixture of opinions, and I never follow anyone blindly.

I got some good opinions on dressing up my blog. Some of you made some good suggestions. I’m going to shake things up around here, but it won’t be for a few weeks.

I received a few more reports back on my book of short stories. There are some that haven’t arrived yet, but they have several weeks available. The comments are all pretty positive, and I’m excited to release this book into the world.

Comments about Macabre Macaroni in October were almost universal: do it again. I realised that posting a bit of micro fiction could drive sales of my book. It isn’t like I’m wasting stories if they can serve a promotional purpose. Besides, people seem to enjoy them, and they are a lot of fun to write. If I post every Tuesday this year, I only need four of them. I’m doing it again, and I already wrote one. (And I really like it.) I ought to be able to come up with three more by the first Tuesday in October.

That’s it tonight. Basically it was work, critique group, cold dinner, and a few words here before bed. I’ll try to come up with something more entertaining for the next post.

10 Comments

Filed under Writing

10 responses to “Coming up for air

  1. Yep, it’s important we pay attention to the red-liners. And the longer we do this, the easier it is to take the criticism for the helpful feedback it is and not get defensive about it. Though that still creeps in from time to time…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah, the red. I’m seeing a lot of it these days. πŸ™‚ Looking forward to your pictures. My (step)son has this week off, so I’m hoping I’ll have pics to share too. He’s in the same boat, him and three women, albeit two are under 2 yrs.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sounds like a perfect weekend. I’m looking forward to October now, Craig. Enjoyed your Macabre Macaroni last year πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Your crit group sounds a lot like mine. I do learn from each of the members who critique my stories, but those who take the harder line usually make me look more closely at my writing.

    Glad you enjoyed the weekend visit with your brother. And I’m looking forward to everything you’ve got lined up, including seeing what you have planned for your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s going to be a wild ride around here. I have a pending release in September. I need to round up folks to spread the news in a few more weeks. I have some new blog art to help with my promotions that I’m dying to share with everyone. I may take Wisp out for another blog tour. I agreed to participate in a blog event with my book club. I decided to run Macabre Macaroni again and have to write those posts. I promised you and Charles each a promotion date. And on top of that, I need to choose a future outline and edit a novel. I almost need a beer after just writing it all down. Oh yeah, and we discussed doing a joint Halloween promotion of some kind, but I don’t know anyone else to play along.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Eke! Remind me about the promotion date thing, I’m drawing a blank.

        Regarding your September release, I’ll be glad to help you promo and can do a splash on my blog whenever you’re ready. Just let me know.

        I hate to say it, but I think I might have to step back from the Halloween promo (unless we just do something showcasing both of our books on each other’s blogs and get friends to tweet, FB, etc.). My schedule is a bit like yours: I’m doing content edits on the Mothman book and Poe, plus trying to write the 2nd Mothman book. I’m also arranging a book signing for myself and two other local authors at a brick-and-mortar store in October, and I’m taking Myth on tour again in October through a touring company. Why do we do this to ourselves, LOL?

        Liked by 1 person

      • I believe we have something scheduled for Solstice Island. Those are easy to do, assemble your material and post. If the Halloween promo doesn’t work out, it won’t break my heart. I’ll have my new book, Wisp, and micro fiction going on over the top of a blog tour. I may have to write some guest posts about the book of short stories or fill out some interview questions.

        Like

  5. Even though you just thought it was a busy day, it was entertaining to me. Thanks for sharing! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

