Weekend winding down

My wife decided she wanted to watch the Women's World Cup game. We haven't watched soccer since the last Olympics, but what the heck.

I didn't manage any editing this weekend, and I also didn't work on any short stories. I really wanted to work on short stories.

My son is working in Nevada. We had our daughter-in-law and the kids over last night. All the adults got a small lobster tail, and a large king crab leg. We rounded it out with potato salad and Mexican corn on the cob. The girls picked up some fireworks and we participated in the neighborhood volly to celebrate the 4th.

Some things you just have to do. I can't write all the time. Still, I managed to write out some blog posts and send them to others. I don't have all the dates, but I'm going to be popping up here and there. I also have another guest appearing here this week.

I spent an inordinate amount of time trying to post the PDF images of the paper dolls on WordPress. In the end, I decided to post links to the printable files, and images of what they look like. I really enjoyed this project, and it looks like quite a few people clicked on the PDF files. It would be cool to see a photo of your paper doll wherever you might be. I'll be content when I see Lisa on the International Space Station. Maybe Vanessa-Jane Chapman can have her jumping out of a cake, or something.

This page with the paper dolls also required a post to talk about what the heck I was doing. This post is less than a half dozen “likes” from making it into my top ten posts of all time. I would really appreciate those half dozen likes if some of you have the time. My top ten get read regularly, and they are a decent introduction to what you might find on my blog. In any case, the page with the downloads will remain.

I spent a little quality time on a beta read for a friend, but I have more to do. I also worked up my critiques for the group meeting tomorrow night.

The outlines all creeped ahead in one fashion or another. I have a few months to tinker with them, so they aren't as urgent.

My brother made me a hammered copper hatband for the cowboy hat I bought in Jackson. I spent a couple of weeks letting it patina, but didn't like the look. I touched it up with a little 2000 grit sandpaper and it came alive. The green color remained in the deep hammer marks, and the polished copper held the high parts. I sprayed it with a clear coat, so it wouldn't continue to patina and stain my hat. All the green turned black upon contact with the clear coat. Nothing I can do about it, but it still looks pretty good.

That was my weekend. Some productivity, maybe it could have been more. We're camping next weekend, so I don't know if I'll get anything accomplished. There could be catfish involved, so that's a plus.

How was your weekend? Is anyone out there writing, promoting, researching?

26 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Writing

26 responses to “Weekend winding down

  1. Sounds like you had a full weekend. I loved the feel of the post it could of been an ‘ If we were having coffee ‘ post. Thanks for being so hospitable. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t seen your paper doll thing – what is that? I guess I’ll find out if I look for the post! Either way, I’ll get baking on that cake – thanks for the shout out! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great dinner, sorry I missed it. I haven’t printed the paper dolls yet.Granddaughter is coming tomorrow so I’m hoping we can make it a project. I’ll try to remember to get pics.

    I wrote all weekend and then reviewed what I’ve written so far with my alpha reader husband. I needed to do that to validate my own perspective. Sometimes I can be too self-critical. We mutually agreed that my edge of the seat suspense evaporated at chapter seven. The story remains interesting and suspenseful, but looses it’s fast paced thriller feel. There are two problematic issues. Pacing and timeline.

    We came to the conclusion that I need to go back and let go of the original timeline, have an event that forces the antagonist to escalate and get off his need to follow his mentor’s timeline. In that way, I can kick it up a notch.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sounds like you had a fun (and busy) weekend. Lobster and king crab sounds delicious (I’m really partial to seafood).

    We had a wet, cool and rainy 4th of July but still managed a cookout. I worked on editing this weekend and getting research notes in order.

    Oh–and great to hear your Lisa paper doll idea was such a hit!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I think you should challenge people to photograph themselves with Lisa in bizarre places like people do with Flat Stanley, then we can send you the photos to see how far she travels and you can blog them. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m ready for lunch! Seafood and catfish sound mighty good right about now!
    I had no idea the clear coat would cover your green patina in black. Isn’t that interesting? Sounds like a great gift, regardless. I wouldn’t mind to see a picture. People so rarely make beautiful things anymore.
    I’ve had a hectic weekend. The plan is to stay in today, no guests, everyone fending for their own food. Tomorrow I will do stuff. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. It reads like you had a great weekend, and you’re right, you can’t write all the time. I didn’t get much writing this weekend either. We had family over and made some barbecue. Also, we just moved in to our new home so we spent a lot of doing stuff around the house. I’m glad you enjoyed your weekend. Camping, huh? I can’t wait to read about that. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Did you enjoy the game? The hatband sounds amazing, got any pics???

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Seems you had a full weekend. Way to keep busy.

    Ours was relatively tame, but include an evening dancing ballroom, another evening on the lawn for the Cincinnati Pops Orchestra with fireworks, then I worked at my part-time job (which is almost over).

    The story challenge is a week away … darn it … wish I would have visited her earlier to plug it to your readers who are writers.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Want to see a pic of you in the cowboy hat with the hammered metal band – sounds very cool!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

