Writing it all out

I admit to slacking recently. I never give myself strict dates when it comes to writing. This is a hobby, and being that regimented kind of ruins it. Hobby = fun. Work = not fun, but it pays better.

Still, writing it all down helps keep me focused. Here's an idea of what I want to accomplish before Fall.

  • Write 1.5 more short stories. I have half of one, and another idea to get to.
  • Write the promo article for the book of short stories.
  • Keep moving forward on outlining, and keep the Camp Research blog idea moving.
  • Actual research to fuel my outlines.
  • Edit The Playground. Whip it into beta reading shape.
  • Organize the short stories into book format.
  • Edit the short stories into shape for beta readers.
  • Beg for beta readers for the novel and the book of shorts. (When the time comes.)
  • Choose one outline to become my next novel. Write an absurd blog post about it.
  • Work on the winning outline, while saving the rest for later.
  • Various promotional things as they come up.

I've been trying to read more. This isn't a bad thing for writers. I've even been reading outside my genre, which I do on occasion. I look at this like an ongoing goal.

 

I also took on another beta reading project. I might be able to help someone, but I learn from the process too. As long as we all play nice, we both win.

 

It seems like a lot, but it isn't. I could finish the writing part on the short stories in two hard days. Organizing them could take some time. It's like putting the songs in order for a good concert. Thank God for copy and paste.

 

Editing will take some time, but my critique group is working through the early chapters of The Playground right now.

 

Research involves enough “stuff” to get the story moving. Additional research is always required after the draft starts. I hope to start my novel by Winter time.

 

How regimented are the rest of you writers? I don't have specific dates, and there will be more camping in my future too. The world won't end if I don't get everything finished on a tight schedule. (I'll bet I'm close though.) Do you make lists? Do you have a system to enforce your schedule? I won't even participate in nanowrimo, because I don't like the tight goals.

25 Comments

Filed under Writing

25 responses to “Writing it all out

  1. I do the weekly goals and I’ll admit to padding it with some easy stuff. I think a ‘goal list’ and an author’s confidence definitely gets a boost from some simple things. Cooking dinner might not be as lofty as write 4 chapters of a novel, but you can still take some pride in making an edible meal. Extra points if somebody actually compliments it. Good luck with everything.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m pretty regimented to be honest and having a six month old that messes with that process has been really hard for me, good, but hard. In fact I should be editing now whilst she naps, oops!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I generally work with deadlines on most projects. I have those I set myself (finish a draft by such-and-such a date or pub a book by a certain month), and those set by my publisher. I frequently stress over the latter, especially when juggling work, blogging and social media, but so far so good.

    Four books a year is a LOT. My goal is 2. Normally, I plan on one of those being a novella or something short. It’s hard enough for me to pull that off. I couldn’t imagine doing four!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My only hard goal is to write something on a current project, five days a week. Sometimes I set a goal like three pages, but if it’s going slowly, then I just settle for writing something to keep my momentum.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think a lot of people do that. I have a hard time not jumping in and starting too soon. I’ve learned that more attention to the outline serves me best. Then when I’m ready to write it moves right along.

      Like

  5. Craig … When I saw you stopped by, I thought PERFECT … perfect for the challenge – see this. https://afrankangle.wordpress.com/2015/06/28/on-a-challenge/ ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This is a bad time to ask. I’m working on a deadline set the publisher, with six more to come. Honestly, I’m having a terrible time trying to keep up with social media, blogging, running a household, etc., while concentrating on my work. Hopefully I’ll find balance soon. Right now I feel a bit under water.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I have vague aims but my levels of achievement tend to depend on what other shit is draining my emotional energy. There’s been a whole truckload recently so I’ve hardly written a thing and now school’s out I won’t for six weeks. But stuff is slowly appearing, so I try to increase productivity while at the same time not beating myself up if I fail. Anything is a bonus right now. You may have noticed my absence from the cyber waves. ๐Ÿ™‚ so yeh, that’s the trick for me, concentrate on what I’ve achieved and try to do more.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

