I just can’t keep my mouth shut!

There have been a ton of political upheaval events this week. For the most part I have an opinion on most of them, but it isn’t a driving force in my life. If anything, I hope we don’t scrub and rewrite the American Civil War into something it never was. I think it’s important to learn it as history.

I'm so cool up here

It’s been a while!

I’m back on my soapbox about WordPress. Just moments ago, my reader became a rainbow flag, presumably to celebrate the gay marriage victory in Washington. I’m not going to take a position on the decision. Those who want to celebrate or mourn are welcome to their opinion.

WordPress is an international platform. To think of it as exclusively American is an insult. It is also a place where differing opinions can exist, and I like it that way.

By placing this flag on my reader, WordPress is taking an active role, and side, in an issue. WordPress is out of line here. Display either the rainbow flag, or the Confederate flag on your own post. Tell me why it’s there, and I’ll probably read it. I feel the same way about those who want to support or condemn the dissenting opinion of Justice Scalia.

WordPress is now telling me dissenting opinions are not welcome. I kind of like to read all opinions, myself. It’s like a shut-up warning to those who might want to engage in a bit of rhetoric.

This also brings up the international aspect. Americans get a bad rap for not recognizing the rest of the world matters. This isn’t undeserved. WordPress is reinforcing this position. I doubt those who want to write about starving children feel this decision overshadows their important posts.

WordPress should be the safe place where we can all talk – about anything that moves us. This includes dissenters, and those in the third world who don’t give a darn about American politics.

WordPress is overshadowing everyone’s issues today. I don’t believe that’s what blogging is all about. If you want to write about your anniversary, what you’re making for supper, or your karate class it shouldn’t be read with someone else’s political opinion attached.

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “I just can’t keep my mouth shut!

  1. Nicely said. I totally agree.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree! I live in Phoenix. I once lived in a subdivision where the HOA would not allow me to fly the American flag, but the Hispanics down the block could fly the Mexican flag. The HOA said they could not discriminate. I promptly went out and bought a Confederate flag and raised it. I have southern roots. I consulted my very patriotic African American neighbor first and he thought it was a hilarious idea. He too had southern roots but different from mine by far. After my Confederate flag went up another neighbor put up a Nazi flag. Very soon All the flags came down, but none of ours came down until the Mexican one did. It is a sad thing when you cannot display the American flag in America. Yes, I have always been a bit of a rabble rouser.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yeah, I thought that was a poor decision, too. Very well said. Your discussion of this being an international platform was on point.

    We fly and American flag. The only problem we’ve had is people stealing it. Only in America.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes, you make a great point. I haven’t seen the rainbow flag myself, so maybe not everyone around the world is seeing it on WP. Mind you, Being away from home, I am using my phone app to access WP, so perhaps I’m not seeing the full site.Whilst I do think it’s something to celebrate, WP should maintain a neutral stance, and allow its bloggers to have their say, that’s what it’s all about, isn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

    • PS I wholly support the idea that people should be allowd to marry whom they want but I do not support being told what to think via stealth cencorship. It’s not a free platform of you are encouraged to think a certain way.

      Liked by 2 people

  5. I suppose WP is as free to express “their” opinion as we are. On the other hand, I agree with you. They are a global platform and should remain as neutral as possible. Let the people form their own opinions. Well said and great post.

    Like

  6. Where is the rainbow flag? I hadn’t seen it. However, I agree with your pint that an organization with international reach should be cautious about putting forth American issues as if that was all the Internet should be.

    PS, my flag has cute flowers and bumblebees.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Amen, brother! Well said!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

