Let’s talk customer service

I had one of the longest days at work that I've had in years. Ten and a half hours with no lunch. I gotta tell you, this post is going to be short. I always try to post on Wednesday, so we're going to talk about customer service.

I've been on a little theme about how I use a cork board app to storyboard my novels. I really like an app called Corkulous Pro. I sent them an email years ago and asked them if we might get some pushpins and string. I explained how I use it, and that strings could really help with plants and payoffs.

The people at Corkulous responded immediately, and thought that was an awesome idea. It never happened though.

This app hasn't been updated in a couple of years, so I sent them a fresh new email. It crashes, because it hasn't kept up with the newer iOS updates. I waited a couple of weeks and bumped them with a new email. It's been about a month now, and they've been silent.

I've been searching for a new app without much luck. I was seriously considering what it might take to create my own app and market it. I decided to try one last search using new words. I tried “pin board.”

There is another app, and it's almost perfect. It even has pushpins and strings. What it doesn't have is index cards. Index cards are kind of important to my process. The app is called Pinnic.

I sent an email to their support team and explained what I needed and why. They responded in a few hours, and this is what they said:

“Thanks for contacting us Mr. Boyack,

We are now preparing a major update of Pinnic and we will add those index cards.

If you need any other feature or would like to join the Beta tests do not hesitate to post.”

That's how you respond to a business email. I may have mentioned my blog and the fact that I'm posting about apps… to a bunch of authors. (It might have happened.)

I could probably resize the sticky notes and use them. I like sticky notes for another reason. They may be yanking my chain, but the idea of a pending update sounds promising.

I'm excited, and I'll be patient about this. I can still use Corkulous for now.

That's the news of the day. Now I have an appointment with a quart sized bottle of Belgian sour beer.

Oh, and I have something crazy, interactive, and fun coming soon on the self promotion front. More on this later.

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, Writing

21 responses to “Let’s talk customer service

  1. Is that first company still around? I wonder if they disappeared and the app remained.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Crazy, interactive, and fun? YES! (Fist pump)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s great service, hope they follow up on it. And I’m excited about the interactive self promo thingy… Sounds like fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Points to companies that respond promptly and well to emails. Customer service is so important.
    I recently sent someone a e-gift certificate. The recipient did not receive it. I emailed the customer service with the confirmation number, recipient’s email, etc. They resent it and copied it to me–the next day.
    Hope you enjoyed your beer after your long day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t think any of us expect perfection, but we do expect a response. Even a quick note to let us know they received our email. It was a nice beer. Kind of a rare style from a bunch who takes the craft seriously.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I often gripe there is no customer service anymore. A lot of companies just don’t care. It’s so refreshing when you come across one that does. Good for you.

    As for the crazy, fun self-promo I can’t wait to see what you have planned!

    P.S….Finished Wild Concept last night. Absolutely adore Lisa and Bunny. Review should be up on Amazon and Goodreads later today. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Please let me know if they add index cards. I’d definitely be interested, but not without the cards. Enjoy your beer!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. WOW! That’s definitely impressive. And hopeful. And now, I want to know all about this interactive idea of yours! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

