That’s the way the cookie crumbles

I spent most of my morning uploading Will O' the Wisp to Amazon. They always mention a 12 hour review period, and usually come in about 8 to 10 hours.

I really wanted to tell you the North American version was live, but it hasn't happened yet. I even have some fun Lisa Burton art to go along with the post. Maybe tomorrow will be the day.

After the NA version goes live, I need to post the international version. Amazon says no problem, but I'm still apprehensive. I've never tried two versions of a book before , but I'm going to. I'll share my results here.

Old What's Her Face* and I went to Costco. We needed to pick up our corned beef for Tuesday. Costco is kind of like going to a major event on Saturday night. It's shoulder to shoulder with other people and you wind up turning sideways to slide through crowds. As an introvert, this freaks me out slightly, but we have our corned beef.

She took me to The Tilted Kilt afterward, because I was a good boy. They have one of the best beers I've ever had on tap. It's called Old Chub Scottish Ale, and is made in Colorado. The waitresses dress in tiny little kilts that would have been considered a belt in my day. My wife knows I like that too. We ate corned beef for supper, because who can get enough corned beef?

We finished our day at Whole Foods. She wanted something our regular store doesn't have, and after three beers I didn't really care. We wound up with a fancy dessert, and that was our day.

Still no word from Amazon, but I'm really excited to have this book online. Hopefully my post tomorrow will be about my new book. I think it's the best thing I've ever written, and really want to get it out there.

Rainy today in Idaho. Maybe tomorrow I can prune my fruit trees. Then I need to make a sourdough for an office pot luck.

* Entertaining Stories, protecting my wife's online anonymity since 2013.

9 Comments

Filed under Writing

9 responses to “That’s the way the cookie crumbles

  1. Well what a lucky office you have to get your famous sourdough! It’s too bad your wife didn’t let you drink enough so that YOU left wearing a kilt! I’d love to see a picture of THAT! 🙂

    Like

  2. Corned beef for Tuesday? Oh, dear. Corned beef is not a genuine traditional Irish dish. Its proper name is New England Boiled Dinner, and there’s nothing ethnically Irish about it. The only reason why it shows up on menus in Ireland during March is to cater to American tourist expectations about an American myth.

    The Irish ate gammon or bacon. Most couldn’t afford to eat beef, and the few who did ate it fresh, not salted (corned). Cattle were a cash crop that were milked to make butter, and exported on the hoof to England and the Continent, and shipped as meat in salt to North America and elsewhere. The beef arrived in barrels that were stenciled “Ireland,” and somehow Americans got the notion that “Irish corned beef” was eaten in Ireland.

    Eat all the corned beef you want because you like it, but please, not on Tuesday. Toss a thimbleful of whiskey into the air for na daoine maithe (the Good People), instead. If any are about, they’ll like that.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve read that in America, the Irish frequently settled next to the Jews, which meant the price and fat content of brisket met the requirements for stew meat.
    I don’t care who you are, a slow-cooked brisket is delicious. I’m Italian, and I barely eat meat, and I love me some corned beef and cabbage 😉
    As for whiskey, that Maker’s Mark 46 is NICE — and made just a few hours from me — hehe!
    I haven’t even started the first of your books I bought yet. Oh the shame.

    Like

    • I love to hear about shopping sprees for my books. Thank you. I have several nice whiskeys, but will pull out my Bushmills tomorrow. (Wisp is really good, you won’t even need that Maker’s Mark to get through it. You might after you finish.)

      Like

Leave a Reply

