Now that would be awesome!

I’ve heard the phrase, burning the candle at both ends, all my life. It indicates that everyone needs a little down time now and then. A period of time to recharge and reflect.

Right about now, I’d love to burn the candle at both ends. Recently I’ve been using my pitchfork to scoop piles of candles into the forges of hell. Work was a zoo today, and has been for weeks. There are projects that keep getting further behind. I can’t put out the fires fast enough.

I’ve been driving myself hard on the writing front too. I have a lot to get done, and I’m pressuring myself to do it. There is no particular reason, it’s just how I’m wired. It is possible, in theory, to choose two projects per weekend, and stop once they are accomplished. I just can’t live that way.

On a positive note, Sleepy Hollow is over for the season. Maybe I can pre-write one or two of those blog posts in my spare time. I’ll have to hurry, SHIELD is coming back.

There aren’t going to be any guest posts this week. I never got any invites, or requests to appear here. This isn’t a bad thing, but I’d like to keep the goodwill going. I’ve enjoyed the various lessons my guests have provided.

I’d still like to get a romance author in here to share a few tricks. How do you build that heat, and maintain it for a few chapters before delivering the payoff? I have some ideas, but if there is a recipe you’d like to share, we could all benefit from it.

I also got a request for a dialog lesson. I’ve posted about this before, and maybe someone else would like to take a crack at it. Sometimes hearing from a new person helps us learn.

Anyone who appears here is welcome to promote their newest book, or coming soon, or editing service. It’s part of the deal, and is expected.

I was asked by a couple of people how I manage to write in multiple genres. I’m willing to write this out, but if someone would like to make it a blog swap it would be more fun. I can also give a moderate guns tutorial. Guns appear in many genres and it’s always nice to know a little something about them.

Several bloggers have dropped me a line, then never sent me anything. You’re still welcome, and I’d love to host you.

If anyone would like to set up a blog swap, or just wants to appear here, please let me know. I’d love to hear about your new project, and get a few writing tips along the way. I usually have Tuesdays and Thursdays available.

That way, my followers get fresh content, you get new exposure, and I get to burn a few less candles. What’s not to like? Drop me a line at Coldhand (dot) Boyack (at) gmail (dot) com. Lisa Burton is standing by to field all inquiries.

10 Comments

Filed under Blogging

10 responses to “Now that would be awesome!

  1. Why is your blog award free? I wanted to give you Very Inspiring Blogger award. You were one of my top picks because you’re so open and honest with your audience– and I love that about you!

    Like

    • Mwa ha ha ha. The sentiment is lovely, but there is a lot of work that goes into accepting awards. Then you have to rat out your friends chain letter style. That just isn’t my thing. I’m glad you thought about me.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sleepy Hollow is done? Eesh! I have so much catching up to do!

    Like

  3. Boy do I get that! The giving up of shows I mean. We watched the series finale of The Mentalist last night. While it had a corny and sweet ending I still loved it. Between no one on The Walking Dead being safe and the way they ended Dexter I’m always holding my breath these days.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m hoping to host you and Patty once WOW is ready. Not sure on swapping right now. Lots of family stuff happening.

    Like

  5. You sure seem to have some fun things planned! ๐Ÿ˜€ I hope Lisa can keep up with all the extra work. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

