Is Tony Bennett a Vampire?

I was on my commute this morning when Telephone, by Lady Gaga, played on the radio. It’s kind of catchy, and I enjoyed it. I remember when she made a Christmas special with Tony Bennett, and I heard she put out an album of classics with Bennett recently.

My mind went to work, and I did a little bit of research. Gaga and Bennett are touring together. Now I don’t like every tune by Lady Gaga, but I admit she is very talented. Strange, but talented.

More research; Bennett is 88 years old. Born in 1926. This is well past the age most people work, and well beyond the age most people are comfortable travelling extensively.

Gaga’s last album didn’t sell too well, and I don’t recall hearing about any big hits from it either.

Deep in the corners of my memory, I remember when Linda Ronstadt put out an album called What’s New. It was her take on some of the classics. She attracted Tony Bennett, and his career was reborn. I don’t recall hearing from Ronstadt ever again.

I saw in my research where Faith Hill did a duet with Bennett once. When was the last time she had a hit?

A bit more research showed that Bennett did a duet with Amy Winehouse. She’s dead now, and Bennett is going strong.

So on one side of the scale we have some very talented ladies, whose careers, well, let’s say diminished. The other side of the scale holds Tony Bennett at 88 years of age who keeps going strong. It almost seems like as the girls lose something, Bennett gains something.

If Taylor Swift’s agent wants to make a protective strike, I heard Bennett’s heart is in San Francisco.

29 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

29 responses to “Is Tony Bennett a Vampire?

  1. He sucks their essence. Like the skeksis.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great detective work there… I think there must be a story in it…

    Like

  3. Creepy. Wonder if he’s just sitting next to a radio listening for a fresh victim.

    Like

  4. I heard TB was a real lady-killer back in his heyday. Apparently, at 88, he still is.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Linda Ronstadt has Parkinson’s. She can’t sing anymore. It’s very sad. I heard an interview with her on NPR.
    http://sanfrancisco.cbslocal.com/2014/11/14/linda-ronstadt-talks-kpix-about-disease-that-has-silenced-her-grammy-winning-singing-voice/

    Like

  6. Kentucky Angel

    Frankly, I wish Tony had stayed in San Francisco with his heart. He really is waaaay to old to still be recording, even if they CAN do great things in the studio to fix the problems. Some men age well–sorry, but he didn’t even mature well. Wanna guess whether I’m a fan or not?

    Like

  7. there was a strange interview on 60 minutes with gaga and bennett. bennett also did a duet with christina aguilera – so if ‘the voice’ counts as a hit that might break your vampire theory. but if bennett goes for swift something tells me she’ll be able to shake it off.

    Like

  8. Ha! Linda Ronstadt– you’re dating yourself. Of course, now so am I!

    Like

  9. You didn’t hear this from me……
    Tony has been one for at least 6 decades. 😉 Something like 63-65years. He didn’t follow all the rules and hence is aging. He’s also not liked very well in our circles.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Reblogged this on Mari Wells and commented:
    An unexpected vampire has been discovered.
    Not serious.

    Like

  11. Hmm…. I think you’re onto something here. (Honestly, I thought he was already dead.) Since you’re on a Twilight Zone kick, this reminds me of the episode “Queen of the Nile”. Have you watched that one yet?

    Like

    • Haven’t seen that yet. There were a huge number of episodes. I have a theory that what constitutes a season today wouldn’t equal half a season back then. I’ve already gotten some cool ideas for short stories too.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, there used to be 36 episodes on average to a season, and now there are 22. Also, a 30 minute show without commercials used to be 24.5 minutes, and now it’s just under 21. Some of the Twilight Zones are actually an hour long.

        Liked by 1 person

  12. Whoa. That’s kinda trippy. :O

    Like

Leave a Reply

