Meanwhile, out at the writing cabin

I grabbed up my critiques from Thursday and headed for the cabin. The basement corral was full of mountain cows. Tiny little creatures about three feet tall and covered with long hair mooed at me as I tromped upstairs. Lisa* found someone to fill in for her.

The plant at the foot of the stairs slurped in a mouse tail like it was a noodle. “Hrmph,” sounded at the top of the stairs.

Iris**, the fairy, was riding Bunny like a horse. “Those plants are disgusting.”

“You keep Bunny away from my plants, and don’t let Lisa catch you riding him.” I tromped upstairs following muddy boot tracks all the way. “We need to send off a couple dozen emails, and maybe plow through my critiques.”

“Hey! There he is, by golly.” Roald***, the dwarf hugged me and lifted me off the floor.

“Good to see you again, Roald. How’s the wife?”

“She’s good too, by golly. She makes you some cheese, and Uncle sends anodder brick of scrapple.”

“I tried to call. Did you cook anything? I need some coffee too, we’ve got some work tonight.”

“I didn’t hear you. That stupid bell thing kept ringing and ringing.”

“Yeah, it’s called a telephone.”

“Pretty fancy bell, I tink. When you got cheese and scrapple, you don’t need nothin else either. I bring some dwarven beer too. You don’t need no coffee with that, by golly.”

I nodded toward the office, and Iris reined Bunny toward the desk. When she got close, she fluttered up to the desktop, and landed on her butt.

“Hey, you flew,” I said.

She rotated her shoulder and stood up. “Yeah, but I have to land like a little kid.”

I fired up my Mac and grabbed the first critique. This one was all about choosing more descriptive words. I did a word search for this section, and that’s as far as I got.

The enchanted beer horns came running with Roald in hot pursuit. “Grab one of them beers and I’ll drink the odder one. We’s a gonna have a good time tonight.”

I scooped the beer horn up to the desktop. It waggled its tail and slid the Mac off to the side.

Iris found an old thimble and rapped it on the side of my beer horn. I filled it for her.

It isn’t every day a man gets genuine dwarven beer. That’s my excuse, and I’m sticking to it.

* Lisa is the main character in Wild Concept. She’s a robot and helps me around the cabin these days. (She’s out for a week or so right now.) Bunny is her pet rabbit.

** Iris is a supporting character in The Cock of the South. She’s a fairy, and staying at the cabin until her wing heals up.

*** Roald is a supporting character in The Cock of the South. He is a dwarven tribesman, and isn’t part of one of the main kingdoms. He has a thick accent, but I’m used to him. (His dialect isn’t written out in the book. This is a blog post, and I wanted to save words.)

15 Comments

Filed under Muse

15 responses to “Meanwhile, out at the writing cabin

  1. Dwarven beer, huh? Sounds like Guinness. 🙂

    Like

  2. I love Roald’s accent! You are so creative!

    Like

  3. Love your cabin! I’m gonna have to visit it one of these days, but I don’t think it’s conducive to getting much work done!

    Like

  4. You’re very creative! I need to read your books since I know I’ll enjoy them! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

