Holy, just, Wow!

Last night I wanted to gain two more views to tie my all time record, and three for the win. I woke up to about forty more than that. I’m overwhelmed at the reception my micro fiction is receiving. Many of you went back and read last week’s story too.

I jumped in the shower and lathered up my head and beard. I heard the door open and peeked out behind the curtain.

Lorelei* primped her hair in my mirror. She had on a black jogging suit from the Coeur d’Alene Resort.

“What the– I’ll be out in a minute.”

She looked me up and down. “Relax.” She wiggled a finger toward my nether region. “Cover your little self up, and I’ll make the room coffee. I want to talk to you about something.”

I rinsed my hair and wrapped up in a towel. She was on my iPad and going through my blog stats.

I made a quick dash for some underwear and pants. Lorelei smirked as I dashed by.

I pulled a comb through my hair and grabbed my coffee.

“You’ve been blog wanking.” She gave me that stern look that all women possess.

“Well, um, yeah, a little.”

“That’s a dangerous habit. Your fiction is strong enough to be interesting without resorting to tricks.”

“But I got my extra views, and received more likes than ever too. WordPress even sent me a badge.”

“Really? How old are you? What’s next a sticker and gold star?” She took my coffee and started drinking it. “It’s a neat trick, but the reblog of your friends promotion would have gotten you enough views, and it was a nice thing to do.”

“Okay. I’ll behave.”

“You have to save it for special occasions. If you become like the boy who cried wolf, you’ll lose credibility.”

I poured myself a new cup of coffee. “I need to get ready for work, but I promise not to get addicted to blog wanking.”

“Good boy.” She finished her/my coffee and opened the door. “I have a spa appointment, then I’m going on a lake cruise to look for eagles. Have a good day at work, and behave.”
***

Thanks everyone for the red letter day at Entertaining Stories. Time for work.

* Lorelei is my Muse; my cranky Muse today.

10 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Muse

10 responses to “Holy, just, Wow!

  1. Never heard that term before. Blog wanking definitely catches the attention and induces chuckles.

    Like

  2. I think I need a male version of Lorelei. Bob is my blog muse but he is useless at critting, just snores and eats.

    Like

  3. Sometimes we must resort to blog wanking in order to bring the viewer to us. *sigh* I wish there was a better way to say “Open House …. All are Invited”. Nope, we have to resort to um “tricks”. At least I am honest about it. I’ve observed, taken notes, and know how to bring peeps in. That is not to say I work my *ss off some days, writing 100’s of comments, replies, etc. I’ve worn out one keypad in 6 months and going now on my second that looks like it is going to konk out soon. Yep, even though firstly I am a photographer, secondly a writer, I put a lot of man hours in to interact with people. Like I am here. This is no put on, either. I really do this with Love in my Heart. So that being all said and done, I leave you with (((HUGS))) and a smile! Love, Amy PS Hope your muse gets un-cranky! LOL

    Like

  4. If you’re going to dream people up, the least you could do is have them serve you a bit better than just bossing you around. LOL! πŸ˜‰ Seriously, though, I love Lorelei and I love your new Macabre Macaroni! And congratulations on your new numbers! Next time, you’ll have to jump even higher through the hoops. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

