Let’s Shake this Blog Up

I never committed to a specific posting schedule. I just kind of fell into one. I don’t know what my problem with schedules is, but there you have it.

For the next month or so, I’m going to add posts on Thursdays. Here’s how I got to this point. Other writers post excerpts of their work. Some serialize one of their books, while many of the others post a bit of poetry.

I came up with the “writing cabin” as a way to post some original work. It’s been pretty well received and will stick around.

I’ve always enjoyed what’s commonly called micro fiction. I’ve just never written any. (Until now) The style is dramatically different than writing novels. I was introduced to these under a specific name.

I ran two of the pieces past my writing buddy, Mari Wells. She cautioned me that someone registered a website under that name, and are a bit protective about it.

More power to them, I say. I want to call them something besides micro fiction, so I’m going with Macabre Macaroni.

I wrote seven of these things, because I love Halloween. I’m going to post one every Thursday from now to the end of October. There are enough to get to the first Thursday in November. I don’t know if the final one measures up, but I might improve it a bit by then.

On October 30th, Mari Wells and I will both post supporting stories. This goes with her October theme of Witch Month. You might want to check her blog out. She’s an amazing researcher, and I know she’ll have some cool stuff planned. Our stories will be linked and to get the most out of them, you should read them both.

Watch for my first Macabre Macaroni post tomorrow. When, depends on iOS 8 and how copy and paste is going to work. I assume there will be a formatting problem, so it could be after work.

I’ll post them under the “Short Stories & Vignettes” category if you think you missed one.

I’ve never done this before, so feel free to offer your micro fiction tips in the comments.

10 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Writing

10 responses to “Let’s Shake this Blog Up

  1. I have no microfiction tips, but I love to read it. I’d be impressed if I wrote any myself!

    Like

    • It’s always nerve wracking sharing something new. I don’t think I’ll ever get over it. Some people will like them, some won’t. Life will go on. At least I’ll be entertained. Hopefully some other folks will too.

      Like

  2. I don’t know who “registered a website under that name, and are a bit protective about it,” but I have news for that person: you can’t copyright titles, which the names of websites are. To have any rights to a name, that person would have had to register that name as a trademark with the Patent and Trademark Office, which is an entirely different process.

    Like

    • Yeah, but I like to choose my fights. I also like my version of a name.

      I agee with you, but then there might be international laws about some of this too. I’ll save my dander for something that matters more.

      Like

  3. Sounds fun! I’m excited for a good read tomorrow. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am intrigued! I love the idea that you and Mari have teamed up to write stories which should be read together! Very clever!

    Like

  5. I was just catching up on all the posts I missed this week, and I guess I read it backward. I already read the Slaughterhouse Spaghetti, I mean Macabre Macaroni, and I LOVED it! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love Macabre Macaroni!!!
    You guys are in for such a treat! The stories I read were brilliant and spooky. I can’t wait to read the rest.

    Thanks for so many shout outs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

